Skip to content

Out of the Mud

July 23, 2007

I love to worship. I don’t care if I am in the living room with my children with a children’s praise CD, on a walk, in my purple prayer chair with my Ipod, or in church. I just completely love to worship God. 

A few weeks ago, a friend introduced me to someone new at church as “the one down in the front row who loves to worship”. I blurted out, “Well, yeah! He brought me out of the pit!” And I smiled this big grin.

She might have thought I was a little crazy, and I guess when it comes to worshipping God, I am. I am completely overwhelmed at what He has done for me in my life: the places He has taken me out of, the sins He has delivered me from, the life and the family He has given me. At times, it is more than I can take in.

And that is what I’m thinking about when the worship starts.

Jesus paid it all..All to Him I owe…

My heart gets really quiet. I begin to remember His faithfulness to me in every situation, and I become overwhelmed with love and joy as I come again into His Presence.

I am completely and totally lost in His love.

“I waited patiently for the Lord, He turned to me and heard my cry. He lifted me out of the slimy pit, out of the mud and the mire; He set my feet on a rock and gave me a firm place to stand.  He put a new song in my mouth, a hymn of praise to our God” (Psalm 40 1-3a). 

Lord, thank you for the privilege of worshipping You. I love to be in Your Presence! I pray that You would continue to draw me into Your arms…

5 Comments leave one →
  1. mandythompson permalink
    July 23, 2007 10:46 pm

    thank you for this post…. very real and very refreshing!
    wow…… and i can say AMEN to being pulled out of the mud!

  2. July 24, 2007 8:32 am

    I love to see you worship Jess! You inspire me to get out of my sedate-ness and worship in total abandon and freedom… be proud of it, girl!

  3. July 24, 2007 3:02 pm

    Wow! Psalm 40 is one of my absolute favorites. Thanks for the reminder. He has truly delivered me from my pit. I agree. Worship is a beautiful thang! (yes, mispelled intentionally)

  4. khubatka permalink
    July 24, 2007 4:36 pm

    You’re definitely NOT crazy! You are awesome and FREE! That’s how it should be when we realize alll that God has saved us from! Love reading what’s on your heart!

  5. Amanda McEwen permalink
    July 24, 2007 9:57 pm

    In the word of Karen Fox, “That girl is FREE!!!” Love you dahling!!

Leave a Reply

