Skip to content

J-DOS

July 27, 2007

Today is my J-DOS!!!

This stands for Jess’ Day of Solitude. And I am grabbing my Bible, prayer notebook, a travel coffee mug, and hitting the road.

A few months ago, our small group leader at church suggested that we all read “The Life You’ve Always Wanted” by John Ortburg. The funny thing is that I had a really bad attitude about reading this book because I thought it would be lightweight and not apply to anything in my life. I really didn’t want to read it.

The book is phenomenal.

One of my favorite chapters (I’ve read it at least five times) is on having an unhurried life. Among other things, Ortburg suggests taking occasional days of solitude to focus on prayer, Bible reading, and rest. Not only does our spirit get refreshed, but we can get perspective on all the things we feel need our constant attention. Yes, the world can go on spinning without me this day at my house.

Of course, there’s the guilt. “I don’t need it this time. What is wrong with me that I am going to take a day to pray? Maybe there’s a faster way to get refreshed!” Yet I feel like the Lord reminded me that EVERY time I do this, I feel guilty.

So maybe this time I won’t feel any guilt at all. I will understand in my gut that taking time to pray and rest away from the noise every once in a while is a good…no, a GREAT thing.

Father, thank you for the gift of time just with You. Please set me free from false importance and false guilt. Give me a Mary heart this day, God.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

