Skip to content

Show and Tell

August 15, 2007

“We will not hide these truths from our children; we will tell the next generation about the glorious deeds of the Lord, about his power and his mighty wonders” (Psalm 78:4).

I want to tell my children the glorious deeds of the Lord. I want to give them a vision for who the Lord is, what He did for the people in His word, and what He does daily in my life.

So much of my parenting is focused on putting out fires. Stop spitting. Stop hitting. Don’t get out of your bed. Speak kindly. Finish your chores. Get in the van. Get out of the van.

In the middle of these hundreds of instructions, when exactly am I taking time to tell them about the glorious deeds of my God?

The truth is, by the time the house is clean, the children are bathed, and we have some semblance of calm, sometimes I’m too tired to even grab the Toddler Bible for a thirty-second devotion.

So, what is the balance? They have to eat (or could we just have Lunchables for every meal?), and I know the house has to stay sort of clean…

How do I balance the mundane and the Holy? Or is there a blending of the two that I have not yet figured out? Perhaps there is some wisdom from the Holy Spirit, not yet revealed to me, about being purposeful and intentional in discipling my children while still completing the daily tasks that drain my spirit.

Somehow, this is almost too raw to write. But I don’t have any answers. What I have is another realization of how deeply I need the leading of the Lord as I mother my precious kids. If it is the desire of my heart to tell them (and show them) about the Lord, then I want to trust that He will come in and reveal to me how that looks in this season.

Lord, I do desire to draw my children’s hearts to You, but that is ultimately your job. So I trust you with my family and ask you to speak clearly to me about every aspect of this time of my life. I love you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 16, 2007 10:09 am

    Your blog is such a blessing. I read my Bible, my Beth Moore, and my Jess…all three bring me closer to Jesus.

  2. August 16, 2007 3:30 pm

    Thanks for the reminder! It is hard to balance fire fighting with teaching them God’s truth–I guess the trick is to figure out how to do them at the same time 🙂

Leave a Reply

