Skip to content

My Father’s Business

August 24, 2007

“And He said to them, How is it that you had to look for Me? Did you not see and know that it is necessary [as a duty] for Me to be in My Father’s house and [occupied] about My Father’s business” (Luke 2:49)?

Sometimes I feel so hidden at home. Hidden, tucked away by the Lord, pouring out my life for my children. Trying to pour out my life for my husband.

I want to be used by Him in every way He sees fit. I want to be about my Father’s business. But it often feels like the Father’s business for me is primarily at home. So, I unload the dishwasher again and turn on some worship music and try to focus on finding the eternal value in the daily tasks of my call.

How do I find my purpose in Jesus surrounded by a big pile of laundry?

Where is the Holy connection between His throne and my life?

I have a friend that I have been lifting up before God for months. Months. Groaning and crying over a situation that is so devestating, so painful, all I can do is pray. Then, when I stop praying about it for a while, I ask God to give me a fresh heart to pray about it again. Because the situation has gotten worse, not better, so I want to keep praying.

Last night, we heard from our friend. Something has happened in this situation that only God could do. Only God. It was the kind of news where, when I heard the message on the answering machine, I started crying and praising God in the kitchen for ten minutes without stopping. I was filled with this fresh realization of how much God is in love with my friend, how He is pursuing my friend with His love.

This morning when I started praying for the people on my “list”, I felt new passion and purpose about it. Yes, I am hidden at home. But I have this Holy opportunity to pray and intercede daily before His throne while I am at home. To lift up His hurting children. To pray for His wisdom and blessing to come in the lives of the people I love.

I am about the business of my Father.

Lord, thank you for the privilege of prayer and intercession. Thank you for your Holy Spirit who prays through us and intercedes for us according to your will. I love you.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2007 8:33 am

    What a wonderful reminder that we have a high calling and the opportunity to use our free time (well, more like what would be “mindless” time – sahm’s don’t really get free time) to use in prayer and intercession. Thanks for keeping it real and reminding us that, while our ministry isn’t public, it is vital.

  2. August 25, 2007 6:27 pm

    You hafta, hafta, HAFTA read this poem!!!!! My hope is that it will help to refresh you, as it has me this week. http://rubies.articledirectoree.com/poems/poems/a-missionarys-vision-159.html

    There is also a very sweet song called “Maker of the Home” found here: http://www.hisimageministries.org/downloads/makerofthehome.pdf It is sooo encouraging that I sing it to myself when I’m down, and I have also been known to sing it to a weary Mom in the grocery store (and I’m NOT the best of singers)….

    (((((HUGS))))) sandi

Leave a Reply

