Skip to content

Old Friends

September 3, 2007

“Don’t worry about anything; instead, pray about everything. Tell God what you need, and thank him for all he has done. Then you will experience God’s peace, which exceeds anything we can understand. His peace will guard your hearts and minds as you live in Christ Jesus” (Philippians 4).

There are certain areas in my life that I cannot mess around with. At all. Even a little bit. Areas where putting my toe in the water is the equivalent of me diving right in the lake and swimming around in my sin and unhealthiness, ignoring God completely and living in the flesh.

I wish I could be just a little anxious. Just a little. I think it would be nice to be able to worry about something for a while and then give it to God. But I can’t.

This week I became worried about a situation in my life. Surprisingly, I have not been anxious about anything in a while. I’ve been diligent in seeking the Lord in things that come up and then letting Him take over. Ahh! So nice!

Not this week. No, this week I forgot that God actually is Lord of everything and I decided I wanted to hold on to this thing. Just for a while. Just for a few days, to carry it around, to think and dwell on it.

Yesterday I realized what had happened. Not only was I still anxious about the original situation, but I had become anxious in about five other areas in my life in the space of about twelve hours. My budget! A friendship! An angry family member! My garage! Words I should not have spoken!

Welcome back, worry! Come on inside my house, anxiety! Good to see you, my old friends!

Uh, no. I absolutely cannot mess around with this. I have lived with unhealthy guilt and responsibility for most of my life, so this has to be an area where I draw a boundary in my soul. I have to draw a line in my spirit and not allow these thoughts in my mind – to take my thoughts captive by His power and then live my life with the peace of Jesus that surpasses comprehension.

I can’t, but He can.

Lord, I love you. I submit to you this day as Lord of every area of my life. I thank you for the power available to me through the Holy Spirit to live in victory, free from worry and anxiety. You are wonderful!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2007 10:59 am

    That’s a good lesson there. Boundaries are always for our safety, not just with sin, but also with worries. Why worry when you can pray. ((hugs))

  2. September 4, 2007 2:01 pm

    Funny that we know the same old friends. I’ve spent the past few days with them myself. Thanks for this post, and reminding me that I choose to keep such company.

Leave a Reply

