Skip to content

Google Schmoogle

September 15, 2007

I am writing this post in celebration of the fact that I have once again found my brain! I am thinking of having a party to welcome it back, and you all can come and bring some sort of fattening dessert because this is a reason to rejoice!

This tale begins with the ending of an era. Yes, my beloved two-year personal calendar had seen its last blank month. Time for a new daily planner for me…and I was open to new ideas. I love new ideas!

My first new planner was Beth Moore’s Whisper Of Hope Planner. Devotions AND a calendar all in one. I thought this would be perfect. But it just didn’t work for me. I felt like I was always behind in the devotions, and I needed more space to write things down. So when Hugh sent me away on an overnight to a bed and breakfast BY MYSELF, I saw this as the perfect opportunity to throw away my Whispers of Hope Planner in the B&B trash can. No one was there to see me do it, so I didn’t feel bad about it at all.

Next I ordered this really extravegant Busy Christian Woman’s Planner. It had, oh, twenty five different sections to help me organize my life. This had to be it! But somehow, having my meal planning, long-range dreams, month/week/day-at-a-glance, budget, and Christmas card list all in one place…I don’t know. Having all that information on my person at all times made me feel sort of like throwing up. So the BCWP is in a big pile next to my bed (this pile is affectionately known as “Last Stop Before Goodwill”).

At this point, I started to get really panicky. I was scheduling all kinds of things for me and my family without the slightest clue to when any of it would be or how it would fit together.

Then my husband had an idea. “I think you need to try Google Calendar,” he said solemnly, peering at me over his glasses, extremely concerned that I had inadvertently scheduled six different things on one day because I didn’t have a functional planner.

He went on to explain how Google Calendar was really the answer to my problem because I could update and maintain my calendar ONLINE and I could access it from any computer AND it was color-coded.

I told him to set me up. He did. Things went along fine for, oh, about two weeks until I realized that I could add different calendars for everyone in my family and each calendar would be connected to one master calendar. I rubbed my hands together with glee and got started on creating some more Google calendars. Now, I realized, I could finally be completely organized.

Here is the list of calendars I created in Google Calendar (I am not kidding):

1. Hugh (light blue – for his work schedule, business trips, and appointments)
2. Hugh Daily (dark blue – for his personal schedule-bedtime, exercise, other commitments)
3. Hugh and Jess (red – specific calendar for our dates, marriage counseling, and time together)
4. Jess (pink – my appointments, playdates, meetings)
5. Jess Daily (light pink – for my personal schedule; prayer time, homeschooling, etc.)
6. Family (yellow – for activities that involve everyone in the family that are outside the home)
7. Girls (purple – preschool schedule for my daughters, any classes or activities for them)
8. My Son (green – list of his sports practices and games, class times)

Also (this is REALLY embarrasing), I created a calendar for each of my three children for their personal schedule at home (naptime, etc). So that’s a total of ELEVEN Google calendars. Yes, eleven.

How did that work out for me? You already know. You know that a crazy, slightly OCD stay-at-home mom who creates eleven Google calendars (in a desperate attempt to get control of her life) is not going to be able to find the time to input all the information into the calendars let alone USE the calendars.

So I had to report to my husband that I had given up on Google Calendar. Completely.

I wandered around in the dark for a few more weeks, wildly throwing things on my schedule with no thought as to how it all fit together. Then, last week, God in His mercy led me to Borders. Where, I am happy to report, they were having a sale on planners. I bought one for thirteen dollars. It is spiral-bound with flowers on the front. Really, really simple. I am now never without it.

So, there it is. My journey to find a new planner. I guess that the one good thing about battling busyness is that I continue to have these fun little stories that I can share with all of you. I mean, seriously, you have to be feeling better about your own life after reading this entry. Right?

4 Comments leave one →
  1. September 15, 2007 12:51 am

    Oh, this is absolutely hysterical!!! You are so OCD, girlfriend! I love, love, love that you threw away the Beth Moore planner when no one could see you. And I cannot even imagine coming up with 11 calendars for my family. You are seriously disturbed. In a good way.

    You know what I’ve done that has worked for me? I just took a three-ring binder, printed off blank calendar pages (1 yearly one, 12 monthly) and put those in the front. I have a section for the calendars (just one for the entire family!), a section for daily routines (homeschool schedule, housekeeping routines, etc.), a section for menus and grocery lists, a section for encouraging articles I print off the internet, one for contact numbers, etc. The trick is I made it myself so I can re-arrange it to suit me. No planner I ever bought pre-made EVER worked. I think there’s a post about it on my blog if you want to see it.

    But thanks so much for the laugh tonight.

  2. September 15, 2007 11:36 pm

    I can totallly see how 11 Google calendars would be too much!!! Maybe I won’t try Google calendars…thanks for the laugh 🙂

  3. September 17, 2007 9:13 am

    My husband told me I should use Google, and I did NOT head his advise. I thought there was no way it would work. But since YOU say it works, (from one OCDer to another), I think I shall give it a try!! Oh, the pressure of living in my head.

  4. November 4, 2008 6:18 pm

    ROFL!

    (Personally, I am a Franklin Covey fangirl).

Leave a Reply

