Skip to content

Prime Examples

January 8, 2008

The ironic thing about giving away a book on busyness is that:

I HAVE BEEN TOO BUSY TO CONTACT MY WINNERS.

So without further delay….

Dawn, MaryLu, and Anjanette will be receiving “How Did I Get So Busy?” in the mail by the end of the week. Quick shipping courtesy of the very evil Amazon Prime.

Amazon Prime is the “pay only 80 dollars a year and we’ll send you anything in two days with no additional shipping cost ever” service from Amazon.com. I, of course, was one of the first people to sign up for AP almost two years ago.

And they LOVE me. I order books all the time. I am completely addicted. Amazon knows this and periodically gives me free overnight shipping when I check out as a way to say “thank you”. (They only do this every once in a while, though – remember Pavlov’s dog?)

My Amazon Prime relationship reached a new level last night at my mom’s book study when my good friend Marybeth volunteered me to be the one to order nineteen copies of the next book we will be reading. I should be the one to order it… after all, I have Amazon Prime. And she’s right. The sad thing is that I talk about Amazon Prime so much that people in my life know all about it.

And I was really excited. I felt proud as I announced that, yes, I could have the books SHIPPED FREE to their houses in TWO DAYS.

Why am I proud of Amazon Prime?!?!? I am their sad little pawn clicking on book after book, waiting anxiously for that brown box with the happy smile on the side to arrive on the UPS truck.

Marybeth says I should go to the library more. She’s probably right.

Maybe I will do that once I finish my “How Did I Get So Busy?” book. And Dawn, MaryLu, Anjanette, and I can all take a breath together as we learn to slow down, cut out the rushing, and focus on what really matters.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 8, 2008 10:26 pm

    Spiderman Prime delivers in ONE day, I’ve got that but didn’t want to brag last night.

  2. January 9, 2008 10:25 am

    Oh no no no no, you are NOT going to stick that on me!! I merely mentioned that you know about ordering from Amazon and that they could ask you about ordering the book from Amazon. I said that perhaps someone might want to go in on an order with you– I in no way and for the record volunteered you to order 19 books!

    That’s my story and I am stickin to it!

  3. January 9, 2008 10:43 am

    You all are cracking me up! I came here to post a sincere thank you for the book, Jess, but I can’t stop laughing about Spiderman. I stopped by Erin’s first, saw the silly head, and wondered; two blogs later, I am here, saw the Spidey post and now I know, you two are nuts!
    Jess, I am thrilled that you picked me for the book. I can’t wait til Spiderman Prime, I mean Amazon Prime gets it here in TWO DAYS!

  4. myjcrew permalink
    January 10, 2008 2:22 pm

    i actually think i may have volunteered you (or someone – you) to do the order – so sorry i tried to organize and delegate. i take the responsibility on that one – just dont call me to the mat.

    oh and as for spidey i saw that stunt b/w you and “qtips” — who i agree is one of the funniest friends i have ever met!!! cracking up again!!!

  5. January 14, 2008 12:38 pm

    It came! It came! And now as soon as I can collect two minutes together, I’ll sit and start reading!
    Thank you! Thank you, from the bottom of my exhausted heart!

Leave a Reply

