Skip to content

today

January 23, 2008

today i woke up early and prayed and wrote…

then i prayed some more…

then i took a walk….

while i was on my walk i listened to two different sermons…

i caught up on my laundry. for the first time in four years, i do not have ONE article of dirty clothing in my house. not one.

i made chocolate chip oatmeal cookies. four dozen.

my children and i ate the warm cookies while i read our favorite children’s books out loud on the red living room rug.

i made paula deen’s crock pot mac and cheese recipe. it is my five year old daughter’s favorite food.

i read a fiction book for over an hour while my children played upstairs.

i gave them a long bath and put my daughter’s hair in lots of little wet braids while we watched a new episode of curious george.

i talked to my friend kelly and she made me laugh- she speaks joy and encouragement into my life.

i played with my son for almost an hour. then we talked about colleges (he has decided against my alma mater after a lot of discussion and will be attending college in either russia, egypt, or china).

i ate my cookies with milk after my children were asleep.

this is the kind of day i love. where i get to the end of it feeling relaxed and happy and that i really paused to savor my life. my children. my time.

today was a good day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2008 11:15 am

    Happy day. Gotta try that. I strive for such a day, but it usually ends up grouchy, slamming things around longing for bedtime so I can have some ME time. Why do I always do that? Why is it so hard to include them in the US time?
    Maybe today.

  2. khubatka permalink
    January 24, 2008 2:41 pm

    You make ME laugh…people really don’t know how incredibly funny you are. Seriously though, give Jess your phone number and then let her leave you a message. She’s hilarious. Love ya, glad to be part of your good day!

Leave a Reply

