Skip to content

Don’t Share, Don’t Clean, Play Your DS

February 6, 2008

If you have a rough week that includes a funeral, another health issue with your sick grandmother, your five-year-old blowing up a juice box all over the garage (yes, the one you just cleaned out), a bizarre rash all over your three-year-old that won’t go away, and very little sleep…

I have a great idea for you!

Follow this plan and you will feel better:

Step One: Tell your husband on Friday evening that you can’t make dinner because you are so upset (o-kay, you struggle to make dinner anyway but don’t. Think. About. That. Remember – you’re had a long week).

Step Two: When he suggests that you play a video game to help you relax and unwind, don’t hesitate. Don’t worry that it’s weird or too young or too strange. Don’t think about the fact that you haven’t played a video game since 5th grade. Just grab the DS and insert “Animal Crossing.”

Step Three: Stay up really late the first night you have the game. Take time to walk around the whole “Animal Crossing” world. Plant flowers in front of your little house. Visit your raccoon landlord and collect shells to sell. Become extremely interested in decorating your virtual house. Try out different wallpapers.

Step Four: Spend most of the day Saturday playing the game. Don’t do laundry, don’t check email, don’t call anyone. Don’t clean your house. Feed your children but don’t clean up the mess. You don’t have time to clean – you have to check on your Animal Crossing plants.

Step Five: When you start to feel guilty about the fact that you have spent many hours PLAYING A VIDEO GAME, remember this: relax. It’s actually o-kay to do something totally pointless every once in a while. It might actually be good for you to chill out and have a break from thinking.

Step Six: Don’t let your children play your game. It’s o-kay not to share.

So, to sum up my steps: Play video games, don’t clean, don’t share.

You’ll be feeling great in no time at all!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 6, 2008 12:31 pm

    Hmm, so did it work? Are you feeling better now.
    If it’s any consolation, I had a crummy week too, and spent most of it on the couch with my 7 seasons of Voyager.

  2. Erin Craig permalink
    February 6, 2008 1:15 pm

    I wanted to let you know how much I enjoy reading your blog so I tagged you. Check out my blog for details!

  3. February 6, 2008 4:58 pm

    Right after my husband and I got married we went through a terrible time with our housing situation. To make a long story short the people we were renting from backed out on a lot of things that they had promised which resulted in us moving and having much higher rent. It was a pretty stressful time! Anyways, we spent a lot of time together in the evenings and just vegging out and playing The Sims. It was very calming and helped us get through a tough time. You are so right that doing nothing is helpful sometimes. It sure did help us with the stress of our situation!

  4. February 6, 2008 6:16 pm

    Jess, I think sometimes ya gotta veg. Yeah? I have no doubt by the end of the day you were ready to share. Maybe the next day, at the most.
    Love,
    Diane

  5. February 7, 2008 12:01 am

    See now, my plan is very similar. It involves just staying on my computer and ignoring all that is going on around me and missing out on much needed sleep. Hmmmm….I’m cranky. I think I need a new plan. 🙂
    And yes, I love YOU! 🙂
    Praying for you,
    K

  6. February 7, 2008 12:05 am

    It was so good to hear from you. I just found your blog in route from Lisa Shea…so I am glad to see how you are and what the Lord is doing with you :o) Great to reconnect!
    Wini :o)
    PS I have been up many a night playing Wii

  7. Barack Obama permalink
    February 7, 2008 3:16 pm

    Happy Birthday Jessica! Thank you for being such a wonderful American!
    How would you like for me to be your president for your birthday ?
    Sincerely,
    Barack Obama

  8. John McCain 2008 permalink
    February 7, 2008 3:18 pm

    Happy Birthday! Sending you many blessings and changes in the coming year. Your blog touches my heart.
    Sincerely,
    John McCain

  9. Hillary Clinton for President permalink
    February 7, 2008 3:20 pm

    Hi Jessica. Happy Birthday from Bill and I. I was wandering….do you know of any good hair removal services in Charlotte?
    Sincerely,
    Hill

  10. February 7, 2008 9:47 pm

    Me too.

Leave a Reply

