Skip to content

HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO ME!

February 7, 2008

Well, so far, I’ve had a GREAT birthday. Turning 30 last year felt like a big milestone, but 31 just feels like a great day of love for Jess.

Birthday love so far:

1. My Small Groups Pastor, John Bishop, told me that he felt like I should really splurge this year for my birthday. “You pour yourself into small group volunteering”, he said, “so I think you should buy yourself an iPhone.” Wow, thanks John! I don’t think Hugh would have gone for it without your suggestion. You are, as always, a great leader characterized by vision and clarity.

2. My friend Amanda has already called with her traditional throaty Marilyn Monroe “Happy Birthday” rendition. I woke up at 7:05 and my first thought was, “I can’t wait for my birthday song!”. Thanks, Marilyn!

3. My wonderful friend Laura called and said she’s bringing over something she’s baked for me. Oh, yippee! Every year she makes me a carrot cake. It is my favorite dessert in the whole world- Laura’s homemade carrot cake! There were years when I wouldn’t have had anything on my birthday if not for my precious friend. (Hugh used to have to work late every birthday I had because of his job.) Thanks, L.!

4. Hugh took me out to breakfast at McDonalds and our girls ran around the empty playland (tip for locals: there is no one at the nice Blakeney McDonald’s at ten o’clock on Thursday mornings). We ate hash browns and drank yummy iced coffee and caught up from a busy week. Thanks, Sweetie!

5. Finally, as a special birthday moment, Hannajean asked me “Does darn it means the same as crap?” Happy Birthday, Jess, you bad-mouthed mamma! I told her that mommy is working on not saying any bad words, including “crap.” She giggled and said, “I know.” Hugh says she must read my blog.

Happy Birthday to me!

Whale Cake!
22 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda McEwen permalink
    February 7, 2008 4:49 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY TO YOU cha-cha-cha!!! I look foward to celebrating with you either at our traditional Cheesecake Factory or a Jell-o no bake on the deck of the mountain house. Hmmm. Busy crowds at South Park or sunset in Banner Elk. Tough choice. Pray about it. Let me know what the Lord says :).
    I LOVE YOU SOOOOOOOOO MUCH!!!
    Mander a.k.a Marilyn Monroe

  2. Mike Huccabee permalink
    February 7, 2008 4:51 pm

    Happy Birthday from Mike Huccabee.
    Hope your day is as special as you are!

  3. Legolas permalink
    February 7, 2008 4:52 pm

    There is a fell voice in the air…it chants….Happy Birthday Jessica Hopper, lord of the blog.

  4. M.C. permalink
    February 7, 2008 4:57 pm

    I am sending you a free, specially designed birthday prayer cloth. Wipe the cake off your mouth with it and you will never curse again. While you’re at it, you might want to wipe your daughter’s mouth too.
    Happy Birthday Blessings,
    Mo

  5. Becky permalink
    February 7, 2008 5:55 pm

    HAPPY BIRTHDAY!!!

  6. Carol permalink
    February 7, 2008 7:25 pm

    Happy Birthday yo you!!!!!!

  7. Carol permalink
    February 7, 2008 7:26 pm

    I meant “to” you. Or maybe that was my inner rapper trying to get out!

  8. February 7, 2008 7:36 pm

    Happy, Happy Birthday! Hope the year ahead is full of WONDERFUL things for you!!

  9. February 7, 2008 7:54 pm

    Happy Birthday!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! P.S. Thanks for the comment on my blog too! 🙂 Enjoy the rest of your special day~*

  10. February 7, 2008 8:41 pm

    Happy Birthday, Jess!

  11. February 7, 2008 8:56 pm

    Happy Birthday Jess!

  12. Anjanette permalink
    February 7, 2008 10:02 pm

    Have a wonderful birthday! Hope all the wishes you made when you blew out the birthday candles come true.

  13. February 8, 2008 12:29 am

    Happiest Birthday wishes to you!!

  14. February 8, 2008 1:14 pm

    Happy belated birthday to you!
    Happy belated birthday to you!
    Happy belated birthday to Je-ess!
    Happy belated birthday to you!!

    Sorry, I missed it, hope you had a fab day! I hate birthdays.

  15. February 8, 2008 2:07 pm

    Happy, happy late birthday! Don’t think of this as late…just as the fact you are so great you get more than one day of celebrating! 🙂

  16. Alicia permalink
    February 8, 2008 2:10 pm

    Happy Birthday!!! Hope it was wonderful!!! Your blog is so encouraging…thank you for being so open and honest!

    Alicia

  17. February 8, 2008 2:24 pm

    Girl ~ I can’ believe I talked to you on your birthday and you didn’t even tell me it was your big day! ok, how about leaving a friend hanging!! hmmm… if you would have replied to my email for momtourage with your birthday i would have known – oh, but i guess you felt like you were exempt from replying b/c you are the gatekeeper of the roster right now — how bout that roster – putting it on google docs anytime soon??? hehe

    anyway – i am so glad we chatted yesterday – i am so sorry i didn’t get to wish you a happy birthday on your special day. so here is a big belated birthday blessing coming your way!!!!!

    love you!

  18. February 8, 2008 6:04 pm

    If I sang Happy Birthday to you, you would throw rocks at my Jess. And anyone withing hearing distance would join in. But birthday wishes to you!
    For you birthday, you should go over to Randy “the copycat” Alcorn’s blog and register to win a “Safely Home.”
    Do you know any site that we can post about giveaways we know about? Or should I keep quiet about this so you have a better chance to win? But, I do know that you already ready it. 🙂
    Diane

  19. February 8, 2008 6:06 pm

    Not throw rocks at ‘my Jess”!! Throw rocks at ME, Jess.
    Am I on medication or what??
    Oh my gosh, I just read the REST of my typos. I’m going to go crawl into a snowbank somewhere and study my spelling words…

  20. February 8, 2008 9:43 pm

    HAPPY BELATED BIRTHDAY TO YOU!!!!

    John told me the iPhone story at “work” YESTERDAY…ON YOUR B DAY…HE FAILED TO TELL ME IT WAS YOUR BIRTHDAY!!! …..men!

    WELL I am glad I read your blog a day late and I send you a BIG HUG! Afterall anyone who is born in February is entitled to a Birthweek not a birthday!! So you have a few more days to celebrate…….hmm guess what month I was born in 😉

  21. Carissa permalink
    February 9, 2008 11:43 am

    I’m sorry I missed your birthday! It sounds like it was wonderful. Happy Birthday my sweet, sweet friend. Love you bunches!!!!!

  22. February 15, 2008 9:12 pm

    Well, Happy Birthday (an entire week late!)

    I hope you’re enjoying your iPhone…

Leave a Reply

