Skip to content

Walking

March 9, 2008

“I can never escape from your Spirit!
I can never get away from your presence!
If I go up to heaven, you are there;
if I go down to the grave, you are there.
If I ride the wings of the morning,
if I dwell by the farthest oceans,
even there your hand will guide me,
and your strength will support me” (Psalm 139: 7-10).

Yesterday, as Hugh and I tried to finish up my resume, I felt like my head was about to explode in little bits all over the wall. I kept interrupting our project with questions like:

“Do you think we could go to Disney World this year if we stayed at an off-property resort since they’re so much cheaper?”

“Do you like this pink shirt?”

“Do you like this new song I just bought on iTunes?”

Finally, I told Hugh I needed to take a walk. I put on my brown Ohio Northern sweatshirt, grabbed my iPod, and left.

There is an old park behind my subdivision. It has a pond, trails, and several abandoned buildings with French words written over the doors.

It is always quiet there. I sometimes worry about the deep woods that back up to the park. Maybe there are scary people there, I thought as I headed purposefully past the crooked rows of trees.

But there is no one at this park – not even scary people.

So yesterday I walked all around the park and sang Steve Fee worship songs really loudly. The wind blew all of last fall’s dead leaves around me as I walked. The pond was rippling with little waves from the gusts. I twirled in my sweatshirt with my arms outstretched, thinking about how much I love God.

I breathed in. I breathed out.

A while later, I headed home, ready to finish my resume with Hugh. My mind felt a little less ready to explode and a lot more focused.

Sometimes prayer doesn’t happen in my purple prayer chair. Sometimes I don’t bring God a list of things to sort through or a bunch of things to repent over. Sometimes I just focus on Him while the leaves tickle my feet and I breathe the almost-spring air and I sing and dance in a place where no one but Jesus can see me.

I love the million ways to connect with God.

He’s all around, just waiting for the moments when I slow down and focus on Him.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2008 4:54 pm

    yes ma’am… it’s amazing where you can find God when you get yourself apart from the world…even for a second.

  2. March 9, 2008 6:15 pm

    I love going for walks. I feel so close to Him out in His creation!
    I hope your resume starts flowing super easy real soon!

  3. Amanda McEwen permalink
    March 9, 2008 9:26 pm

    What have I told you about going in those woods alone??
    :),sorry, I had a momma moment. I love when you describe your worship. It makes me feel like I have taken a walk and danced myself. You are BEAUTIFUL!!
    MAnder

  4. March 10, 2008 8:25 am

    I, too, have a special spot to pray every morning with God. But, sometimes the spontaneous prayers are the best. Those unexpected moments when you see a glimpse of God. I often think I would have missed it if I wasn’t listening to the Spirit’s promptings.

    Sounds like you had an awesome time!! I wish it were warm enough in Michigan for nature walks!! 🙂

  5. March 10, 2008 8:37 pm

    This -Sometimes I just focus on Him while the leaves tickle my feet and I breathe the almost-spring air and I sing and dance in a place where no one but Jesus can see me. – was my favorite line! What a beautiful post!

  6. March 10, 2008 11:15 pm

    Loved this post. Especially loved it now because I can picture you and hear your voice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

