Skip to content

God Talks To Me In The Tub And I Am Convicted

March 15, 2008

“My son, pay attention to my wisdom; listen closely to my understanding… (Proverbs 5:1).”

This is how God talks to me.

Me (getting in my nice warm bubble bath early this morning after a great night’s sleep): Ahhh.

Holy Spirit: Don’t turn on the computer today until you’ve spent some time with me.

Uh, ouch.

I quickly reviewed my last few days. Busy, busy, busy. Yes, my days were full, but I realized that I had made time for the following things: a one-hour phone conversation with a good friend, an episode of Iron Chef, blog reading, and (I just counted on my gmail account) sending 36 emails.

So. I have time to talk on the phone, read blogs, and write 36 emails – but I don’t have time to pick up the Word?

I have to be so, so careful. If I allow myself to develop habits and patterns in my life where I am not living dependent on being daily filled on the Holy Spirit and the Word, then I will soon crash and burn.

I ended my bath and found Hugh. “I need to spend some time with the Lord…like, um, right now.”

He took one look at me, and then (yes, he IS wonderful) he made me coffee so I could go upstairs and spend time with God.

“Father,” I prayed, “I am really, really sorry that I have been putting other things before you. I don’t want any idols in my life, Lord. Give me a new hunger for you and a new passion for your Word right now. Come and fill, fill, fill, fill me with your Spirit in this moment. Do whatever it takes in my life to keep me dependent on you.”

The next hour I focused on my King. I read His Word. I prayed for my family. I prayed for my friends. I wrote out verses that convicted me (see the Proverb at the top of this post. Hello? How can I listen closely to God if I am not slowing down and pausing to hear Him? Hmmm.).

So now I am ready to embrace my Saturday and live my life out of the overflow! My friend Kelly talks about living out of the abundance of the Lord and being able to pour out to our families from a heart that is full of Him. Instead of filling another day with my own self-important tasks, I now feel ready to go and spill out the love of Jesus to my husband and children.

Yeah!!!

Lord, thank you that you meet with me. Thank you that you speak to me – even in the tub. Father, please call me to pray and give me a heart that desires to spend meaningful time in your Presence. I want to abide in you, Lord. I want to live my life out of the overflow of your Holy Spirit. I am so in love with you. Amen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. March 17, 2008 8:21 pm

    I stopped by from 5 minutes for mom because I was intrigued by the blog name.
    Thank you for this post…I so needed to read these words.

  2. March 18, 2008 2:15 am

    I too find that I cannot even open up my laptop until I have first opened the Word. Even after several years of learning this lesson, I still try to think I should ‘just real quick’ turn on the computer every now and again, and have to shorten or skip my devotion time EVERY SINGLE TIME.
    I love walking down this path with you, sistah.

  3. March 18, 2008 9:18 pm

    I connected with this post in so many ways. I, too, am often quite convicted when I look at what I made time for and Who I did not make much time for. Sigh. I know I cannot make it without Him. Darn this computer. 🙂
    Also, He speaks to me in the tub, too! I was just talking to a friend of mine about that. The tub, the shower….that is the place I can pray the best here lately. Not too bad…you come out spiritually and physically clean.
    Blessings! Love ya,
    K

Leave a Reply

