Skip to content

The Messy Garage

March 17, 2008

“As the deer longs for streams of water, so I long for you, O God. I thirst for God, the living God. When can I go and stand before Him” (Psalm 42:1-2)?

The last few days have been really dry for me spiritually. When I pray, I lose my focus in about two seconds and start thinking about four hundred other things. I hate seasons like this.

I love coming to the Lord with a fresh and ready heart. To spend a long time praying and emerging from my time with Him with total clarity and peace. I get so excited to find something fresh in the Word every single day and meet with Jesus in a powerful way.

But not the last few days.

“Argh!” I yelled out loud from my chair after realizing I had read approximately ONE verse in my lovely NLT Sanctuary Bible and then launched into a ten minute daydream about how to organize the garage.

The garage? Seriously.

But here’s what I know:

1. I experience times like this periodically in my walk with the Lord. They do not, however, define my walk with Him.

2. The more discouraged I allow myself to become, the longer I will stay in this state of distracted and dry prayer time.

I am learning that I must still consistently seek God even when I have a season in my prayer life where I don’t hear His voice or feel His Presence. I want to be a woman characterized by discipline – “planted by the streams of water (Psalm 1:3).”

There are things that I can do – tools that I can use – that help me in my prayer life when I start to feel chronically distracted. I will start using a more structured Bible reading plan to help me stay focused or I may start a new Bible study with a friend. I may spend some time creating a new prayer notebook – something that I feel excited about when I pray. I may even use a simple tool like my iPod and buy myself a few new worship songs at my favorite online place (the Apple store, of course!).

Regardless of the tools I am using in prayer and regardless of how I feel, I need to keep moving forward in the things of God. I can trust Him to be faithful to me as I seek Him even when I feel dry.

Lord, I long for you. I thirst for you in this dry and weary land where there is no water (Psalm 63). I ask for a hunger and a passion to be in Your Presence this day. And I ask for you to open up heaven and send a freshness to me in my relationship with you. I want more of you in my life, God. I want to hear you more. I want to love you more. More. In the name of your Son, Amen.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2008 11:53 am

    I am always so blessed by how you press into Him! And you have such wisdom about not dwelling in a place of guilt during a time of “drought”. I have been there and learned the hard way that the guilt really does prolong it!
    Thanks for telling us your ideas for how you are going to press through this time. We could all use the suggestions cause we all go through this!
    And thanks for the scripture you put in your comment! Love it! Will be holdin’ on to that one!
    You bless me!
    K

  2. March 18, 2008 12:25 pm

    I sometimes feel like I have ADHD, or whatever that disorder is called. I’ll be praying and suddenly I am in the middle of a grocery list! How did that happen?
    Diane

  3. March 18, 2008 5:28 pm

    Glad your interview went well–
    Our dinner was Delicious!! Thanks!!

    I am having leftovers for dinner tonight actually.

    I can’t wait to catch up with you soon–

  4. March 18, 2008 10:37 pm

    Jess…
    Thank you for being such a blessing and letting God use you as an instrument. So many many times, you encourage me to press deeper still and draw closer to God. You are a special and beautiful person. I told my husband about you last night and told him what a neat person you sound like, that I’d love to meet you. Maybe someday? So neat to hook up with sisters in Christ across the states and relate so well with even though we’ve never met. Keep trusting, hoping, believing, and shining!!
    Hugs…Laura

Leave a Reply

