Skip to content

My Currently Unanswered Questions

March 22, 2008

1. How do I stop listening to people I love gossip about other people I love?

2. When is it o-kay to be angry? What does “be angry and do not sin” really mean practically as I walk daily with Jesus?

3. If I start working again, will I ever make dinner or begin my big exercise program where I become extremely cute again?

4. How can I help my child stop complaining and whining so much of the time? Is this whining and complaining a reflection on my parenting? How much of my children’s bad behavior am I actually responsible for?

5. Will Hugh take me to Disneyworld this year if I whine and complain enough? (Oops. I actually wrote that before I thought about question 4. STRUG-GLE.)

6. Is is wrong to take all of my children’s used clothes to Goodwill instead of selling them on Craig’s List or in a garage sale? Does this make me a bad steward?

7. Why can’t I read any solid classic literature? I mean, I love books so much – why can’t I read some Dickens or Shakespeare or something?

8. What should I say to my grandmother when she asks me if I think she will ever drive again? When I know she never will?

9. How much time one-on-one do my children need every day from me?

10. How many calories are in my Grande Cinnamon Dolce Frappucino from Starbucks that I am drinking right now? With whip?

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 22, 2008 6:48 pm

    I struggle with many of the same questions. The only thing that comes to mind is: Seek ye first the kingdom of God, and His righteousness and all these things will be added unto you.
    🙂

  2. March 22, 2008 7:04 pm

    What you can do with the kids’ clothes is take them to Once Upon a Child first, get paid for the ones they’ll take, then take the rest to Goodwill.

    The rest, hummnn, a bit harder. Thank goodness we know where to look and who has the answers!

  3. Anjanette permalink
    March 22, 2008 7:23 pm

    How funny – I think I am doing the wrong thing when I sell the kids’ out grown clothing instead of donate them to others in need. I think we beat ourselves up an awful lot – but all with good intentions. 🙂

  4. khubatka permalink
    March 22, 2008 8:33 pm

    The answer to #10 (if you really want to know) is 370. Starbucks has all their nutrition info on their website, and you can even customize your drink to get accurate info. I’m nerdy, you don’t have to tell me. But I don’t think that’s too bad for a yummy dessert indulgence! I wish I had wisdom for all the others, but that’s all I have to offer you right now. Love ya!

  5. March 23, 2008 8:01 am

    Well, I think the EASIEST one on your list is #1, really. Either stop hanging out with them, TELL them you can’t listen, walk away, or combat any gossip with something beautiful and positive about that person; something you admire. That tends to shut people up. 🙂

    #3…Yes, if you really want to. But I can see already that this will be an area where satan will be working on dumping more false guilt on you!

    #7…Why do you need to??? Reading is for enjoyment or education, right? So stick with thing you enjoy or want to learn about. I’m sensing false guilt here.

    #6…False guilt.

    #9…Probably varies by kid; varies by day. I’m thankful if I get 5 minutes per kid. Don’t you be carrying any false guilt here.

    #7…I’ll pray for you.

  6. March 23, 2008 9:02 am

    Number 6 is easy.
    Goodwill will sell your clothes for you and you are providing a service for those who need good, inexpensive clothing. Time is money, your time is valuable and selling them on Craig’s list or offering them on freecycle is time consuming.
    DO NOT get sucked into the “I gotta do something worthwile with them and get something out of them in order to be a good steward” mentality. For one it is legalism; and two you are being a good steward by passing them on to someone else who can use them.
    Been down this road myself, had terrible guilt about not having a successful yard sale twice a year. Absolutley not worth my time involved and I offer my stuff to a local foodbank who then uses the proceeds to feed the homeless.

  7. amandamcewen permalink
    March 23, 2008 12:47 pm

    this is a really fun post to comment on!! Let’s go through the list.

    1. We done did talked about that.I agree with Cindy. Speak the truth in love, then walk away. If it continues..STAY AWAY from them.

    2. If you ever see anyone selling salvation at church, you may then be angry and flip over their tables :). Be angry at sin. Such as these ladies and their gossip problem. Not when your husband wont help you clean up :).

    3.You might find that you make dinner more. Your weeks will be INCREDIBLY structured which really helps you. Two words. CROCK POT!!

    4. You are only responsible for your kids whining if you let them continue in it. Take their DS, take the Wii, make them watch a documentary on children of the Sudan. After they are good and horiified, make them make lists of all the things they are thankful for.

    5. You are going to Canada!! Isnt that enough???? Make yourself watch a documentary on the Sudanese children.

    6. It makes you have a clutter free, organized life, making time for the things that matter. Yes, Jess..you should feel guilt that you are not dedicating 6 hours of your week taking digital photos of your kids clothes, posting them on Craigslist, sorting through the valid inquiries vs. the nut cases all to make ten dollars. SNORT!!! You always tell me that you cant put a price on time, and your SO right as I succumb to this guilt often (note to self..take massive bag of stuff i have had sitting on my living room floor with the intention of sorting through, ironing and folding to take to Once upon A Child, to the nearest GODDWILL!!)

    7. At least you read!!

    8. Tell Gram she will get to drive a golden chariot in heaven, in the mean time you will drive her in her golden Accord.

    9. Let me know when you fiqure that one out. That question just spurred an anxiety attack in me.

    10. You can order that sugar free, skim milk and cut the calories down to nothing. They use Splenda so it is just as sweet :). Keep the whip though..it cant be that bad.

    LOVE YOU!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

