Skip to content

With My Whole Heart

April 3, 2008

This morning I woke up early and right away I….

answered every email.

I mean, if you read my blog, there is a good chance you got an email from me. A response from an email you sent a while ago. And I had not written back. Sorry.

Then I went upstairs with shaking nerves and my cup of coffee and spent some time praying.

I spent about fifteen minutes in prayer. Some mornings I pray for an hour. Some mornings I pray for two hours. But not today.

But God was still faithful to speak to me in the little bit of time I set aside to hear from Him.

Psalm 103:1 says “Let all that I am praise the Lord; with my whole heart, I will praise his holy name.”

And I kept reading the words over and over:

“With my whole heart…with my whole heart…with my whole heart.”

Do I praise Him with my whole heart?

When I have a great revelation about parenting and I feel success course through my body as I embrace my kids – I praise Him.

But what about yesterday when (again!) I sat them in front of PBS because I was so nervous about my interview that the only thing I wanted to do was complain to Kelly on the phone.

When my first interview went well – I praise Him! I tell everyone! But what about this one – that leaves me with more questions than answers? Am I praising Him with my whole heart right now?

When I spend hours and hours with Hugh over the last few weeks, laughing and touching and just really enjoying my husband – I praise Him.

What about when Hugh wants to talk about the budget? NO! It is hard to praise God with my whole heart when faced with the reality of the credit card debt that I alone am responsible for.

I want to praise Him with my whole heart. On the good days AND on the bad days. During the great mood AND during the sucky mood when I snap at my family.

This has got to be possible. Paul wrote about joy many times in Philippians WHILE. HE. WAS. IN. JAIL.

Jail. Hello?

I want to be like Paul. I want to passionately love and worship and trust God with my whole heart today and echo Paul’s words over my life – no matter what is happening:

God, help me to pray with joy (Phil 1:4).

Lord, I ask for your strength as I experience the joy of my faith (Phil 1:25).

Jesus, I receive your joy overflowing in me today (Phil 1:26).

Father, I want to be full of joy! To rejoice! (Phil 4:4).

Lord, I ask that you would give me a joyful and whole heart poured out before You today – regardless of how I feel.

Amen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Laura permalink
    April 3, 2008 2:42 pm

    I often see myself like the little girl in “Miracle on 34th Street”. She’s in the new house, sees Santa’s cane, starts in saying very quietly and with huge doubt, “I believe, I believe, I don’t know why but I believe”. She gets louder and more emphatic as she realizes it is her house and she has gotten what she wants. That’s how I am. When I’m just feeling poopy, angry and downright mean. I begin like that…mumble mumble, glory whatever…until it becomes full blown and the tears run and the smile can’t be wiped off my face. I think that’s one reason God demands our praise. He knows that it ALWAYS connects us to Him. He’s the best!

  2. April 3, 2008 3:55 pm

    Thank you for sharing your heart once again today…I really needed it..you are such a blessing my friend!
    Hope I get to meet you some day 😉
    Hugs***

  3. April 3, 2008 10:18 pm

    Doggone feelings. Mine are always gettin’ in the way!

    I’m with you, I want to be able to praise Him no matter how I feel!

Leave a Reply

