Skip to content

Front Page

April 14, 2008

CHARLOTTE, NC – On Monday morning, at approximately 7:10am, police responded to complaints of a loud scream coming from a white two-story house.

Upon entering the house, police discovered a greatly weakened 31 year-old woman, whose name is not being released until her family can be contacted.

The woman was surrounded by to-do lists, a laptop, and a pile of dirty laundry. A Bible was nearby but, as one officer stated, “it was covered in dust – it probably hadn’t been moved in a few days.”

The police were initially distracted by the noise from the woman’s answering machine, which emitted loud beeps every five seconds. Upon further inspection, it was discovered that the machine contained seventeen unheard messages.

“When we found Mrs. H.,” an officer commented later, “we couldn’t immediately tell what was wrong with her. She just kept moaning with her eyes closed. When we tried to get her to the ambulance so we could assess her condition, she frantically grabbed her laptop and wouldn’t let go. She kept saying phrases like ‘too much to do’ and ‘not enough time’. It was odd – really odd.”

Eventually Mrs. H. was removed from her home and taken to a nearby facility for evaluation. A skilled medical team thoroughly examined her and said “nothing appeared physically to be wrong with her. After we looked her over, she just kept crying and asking for some time by herself. Finally, we left her alone.”

A few hours later, doctors reported that Mrs. H. was alert and happy. When asked about her sudden recovery, Mrs. H. only pointed to a Gideon Bible and a note card with these words on it:

“The seed cast in the weeds represents the ones who hear the kingdom news but are overwhelmed with worries about all the things they have to do and all the things they want to get. The stress strangles what they heard, and nothing comes of it. Mark 4: 18-19.”

Mrs. H. told reporters later, “I guess I was worried about all the things I had to do and all the things I wanted. The stress did strangle me. I mean, I just freaked out. But now I realize that nothing good is going to happen in my life when I let that stuff overwhelm me. I need to keep God first, even if that means letting other things go sometimes.”

Doctors are amazed at how quickly Mrs. H. seems to have returned to normal. One doctor said, “It’s almost supernatural. She was moaning and crying and then after she wrote out that little card and read her Bible, she seemed a lot better.”

Mrs. H. says she plans to tell other people about what happened.

“I don’t want my friends to get to the point I did. I want them to know how important it is to slow down and take time for what really matters in life.”

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 15, 2008 9:45 am

    You are funny….even when you are making an excellent point.

  2. April 15, 2008 10:25 am

    Too funny!! I’m thinking maybe that was me?? Mrs. Hatcher, perchance?

Leave a Reply

