Skip to content

Yesterday When Amanda Came Over

April 25, 2008

“Don’t fret or worry. Instead of worrying, pray. Let petitions and praises shape your worries into prayers, letting God know your concerns. Before you know it, a sense of God’s wholeness, everything coming together for good, will come and settle you down. It’s wonderful what happens when Christ displaces worry at the center of your life” (Phil. 4: 6-7, The Message).

Yesterday Amanda came over to talk and pray. We haven’t prayed together in a few weeks and we both felt hungry for that set-aside time where we seek God’s face together.

We had just finished when her husband called.

“What?….Ok…Ok…” Her face turned pale as I tried to hustle her crying three-year-old from the room so she could hear Chris clearly.

Someone broke into their house while we were praying. Someone took most of her jewelry, her son’s keepsakes, her grandfather’s watch, their expensive electronics… anything small and potentially valuable.

She left quickly. A few hours later, our Bible study met, and I told them what happened. Amanda came halfway through the meeting to get her children, and she took time to catch us up on the details.

One by one, we prayed for her. For peace…for her husband…for the moment when she told her son his things were stolen…

Amanda sat on the floor, leaning against my bookcases as we prayed. I wanted to cry. I felt so angry that someone took their things… and I wanted to cry with gratitude at the way I see our Bible study growing in love together.

As we prayed, I thought about how difficult circumstances make people closer. Relationships deepen when you walk with each other through hard things.

Our group came together in a deeper way last night as we lifted our friend up. We will continue to pray for her. So maybe that is one good thing that can come out of the mess yesterday.

Another is that I am continuing to see my friend handle her life with intergrity as she trusts the Lord in the middle of hard circumstances.

As Amanda sat on the floor, she said calmly, “It’s not the stuff I care about, it’s telling my son – I hate that this will hurt him.”

Amanda challenges me to look first at the things that really matter in life – which are not things. She is a constant example to me of a woman who is able to look beyond the situation at hand and put her faith in God – no matter what is happening.

It’s an honor to walk through another hard situation with her.

Father, I pray that you would bless every aspect of this incident for Amanda and Chris. I pray that you would restore their lost things. Please fill them with your peace and your Presence over the next few weeks. I pray that you would keep them from fear – but fill them with confidence in you. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. April 25, 2008 9:36 pm

    I’m so sorry to hear about the robbery! I’ll be praying for your friend in the morning, and hope she is feeling safe and secure in His arms this night.

  2. April 26, 2008 2:44 pm

    My goodness. That is terrible about her stuff, but wonderful about her walk.

Leave a Reply

