Skip to content

Nineteen Minutes

April 29, 2008

Jess – prayer warrior. Jess – intercessor for her family. Jess- passionate for the Word. Jess – two to three hours with the Lord.

Or.

Jess – prayed this morning for nineteen minutes. Then I had to force myself to stay in my prayer chair. I have an extremely long “to-do” list today and my mind kept wandering all over the place.

“Hm – should I change the cat box before my brother comes tonight to house sit?”

“Should I take make-up to the beach. Will I even wear it?”

And many, many other spiritual thoughts.

Ah, well.

But I pressed on, knowing I needed to hear from the Lord.

“Father, I ask for Your focus right now. Please speak to me through your Word.”

I flipped open my Bible (well, actually, I opened my PC Study Bible Version 5 on my laptop – but that sounds really unspiritual) to Psalm 34.

Verse one says “I will praise the Lord at all times. I will constantly speak His praises.”

Mmmmm. At all times…Constantly. God’s Word is like this really good meal to me. I can chew and savor and consume His words and they will satisfy me like nothing else.

I repeated the verse several times, tucking it away in my heart. My list is still long and I will have many opportunities today to be grumpy and controlling as we prepare to leave this afternoon for our family vacation. But, now, as I go about my day, I will remember that:

“I will praise the Lord at all times. I will constantly speak His praises.”

This is how my time with Him changes my life – and changes my day. He fills me up, up, up and strengthens me with His Presence.

Yeah!!!!!!

Father, thank you for speaking to me through your Word. I love you so much. I ask that you would please continue to pour out your Presence on me. I want more of you, Jesus. Amen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. April 29, 2008 10:18 am

    tucking this thought in my pocket for today. bee-yoo-ti-ful!

  2. April 29, 2008 11:05 am

    Man, you sound so much like me. My mind wanders so much and I pray for focus first, almost always. I almost always HAVE to write my praying down, so I can focus, too. Otherwise, my fickle mind will be wandering down the produce aisle at Safeway…. You know how it goes. God is GOOD.
    Come and visit my blog (invitation and command) as I’m having a testimony carnival in a couple weeks and I really, really really want you there. (No guilt, right?)
    Love,
    Diane

  3. April 29, 2008 6:32 pm

    I’m with His Girl… bee-yoo-ti-ful! When are you going to publish all this??

Leave a Reply

