Skip to content

Highlights From My Trip…So Far

May 1, 2008

1. I have successfully executed a car trip with my three children that did not involve using the tv/dvd combo while en route to our destination. No tv! I gave them books about the ocean and magna-doodles – and THAT WAS ALL. They were completely content on the ride to the beach. My son read a Bible story to his sisters. I don’t understand – how is this kind of non-tv experience possible?

2. Hugh and I are sleeping on a full size Murphy bed. Full, as in, slighty larger than a twin bed. I did not know that Murphy beds still existed. But they do. It is fine except that Hugh wants to snuggle, and I want to push him on the floor so I can rest. Sorry, babe.

3. I have used the “vacation budget” opportunity to buy magazines every time I run into Food Lion for groceries. I mean, staying in a grocery budget is hard work, and I have not been buying any extras – until now! Southern Living, InStyle…yeah!!! Fun, fun, fun!

4. Hugh turned 30 yesterday. To celebrate, I ran into Target to buy him a birthday gift, and I lost my debit card. Happy Birthday, Hugh. I am really sorry. Will it affect our budget if someone found my card and rang up thousands of dollars of purchases on it?

5. We are on the twelfth floor of our resort. I have had several horrific scenes run through my mind as I imagine one of my children leaping from the balcony and falling to the parking lot below. Do other mothers think like this? What is wrong with me?

6. Watching my children play in the ocean with their father is the most beautiful sight to me. Ever. They laugh, he helps them avoid scary waves, and I sit on the sand drinking it all in.

7. I have gathered up all the brochures for the nearby outlet malls, and I am planning an afternoon of shopping. Look, it is part of my vacation budget. And, really, I think I need a Kate Spade bag. My friend Carissa has one. According to InStyle magazine, so does Jessica Alba. (Actually, I don’t know who that is. But, whatever.)

8. Hugh and I have had a long discussion about my fears and insecurities about staring a job. “It will be good for you,” he stated last night as the sound of the waves drifted through our little suite, “because you do really well with structure.” Amanda has told me the same thing recently. So, why haven’t my husband and best friend talked to me about my apparent structure dysfunction sometime in, say, the last TEN YEARS!?! Thanks, guys. You are supposed to be speaking HARD TRUTHS to me, okay? I can handle it. Maybe.

9. I sneaked into the linen closet of the hotel and grabbed a bunch of towels. I don’t think I was allowed in there, but I quickly justified it in my head based on reasons I no longer remember.

10. Finally, the best highlight from our family beach trip so far is…praying on the balcony! I love it! Getting away from my house and my emails and my life…and just listening to waves (and also listening to the old Chris Rice song “Hallelujahs” where he talks about whales, dolphins, and shooting stars)…it has just been deeply relaxing for my brain. I have been able to hear from the Lord about some things I haven’t heard from Him about at home. As I drink my Starbucks and sit on the hard plastic chair with my Bible, I feel connected to God and really, really peaceful.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 2, 2008 9:27 am

    Oh, that sounds delicious!

  2. amandamcewen permalink
    May 2, 2008 12:38 pm

    WOOO HOOO!! Cant wait to get there!! Thanks for the heads up on the size of the Murphy bed :). I miss you!!
    Glad to hear you are having such a refreshing time. Enjoy it, when you get home we need to have a talk about your structure issues hee hee.

  3. May 2, 2008 4:45 pm

    Sounds like a great time!

    I’m a total freak about my kids and windows, too. thought I was alone, but apparently, I’m not.

    Keep enjoying your time away!

  4. May 3, 2008 9:45 am

    Yay, enjoy your vacation! Peace sounds good right now. Oh, and I know the Prince of Peace– I need to turn to Him right now. Why am I on the computer?

    Sorry, anyways, I linked to your blog yesterday because you bless me so much! 🙂

    You are not crazy, this is a mommy thing I think. Mine is with water– I’ve had so many nightmares about my kids drowning & always wake up feeling despair.

    Enjoy the rest of your vacation!
    -Meg

  5. May 3, 2008 7:19 pm

    Sounds amazing. I’m so happy for you!!

  6. May 3, 2008 9:47 pm

    Sounds lovely! A vacation really will do wonders.

  7. May 5, 2008 7:43 pm

    That sounded so relaxing! I know you had fun!

Leave a Reply

