Skip to content

Three Months To Practice. Starting Tomorrow.

May 4, 2008

It is 8:24 pm.

My husband has unpacked every sandy piece of luggage, and I am lying in bed trying to watch TLC.

But I can’t focus because something horrible is about to happen – something that has not happened in several years.

Oh my. I’m breaking out in a sweat just writing out the words.

I have (GASP) given myself a bedtime.

No more staying up until after midnight reading and writing and catching up on emails.

NO MORE.

No more cleaning the house, picking up toys, and flipping through magazines while the house is quiet.

NO MORE.

If I am truly going to have a job again, then I will truly have to be able to get up early.

Every morning.

“Jess,” Hugh told me sternly over coffee this week, “you need time to practice getting up early before you start teaching.”

“No problem!” I said, thinking that mid-August would be a great time to start practicing my new bedtime/getting up routine.

Um, Hugh meant tomorrow. Apparently he thinks that this will be a shock to my system. Apparently he thinks I need to get dressed in non-sweats and make-up every day to get prepared for teaching.

Darn it. He’s right.

So, I am setting an alarm. And it’s early. I will probably be extremely grumpy tomorrow as I adjust to my new schedule.

But I will be in make-up!

So, if you see me at Target, please tell me I look cute. Actually, tell me to get out of Target because I have NO MONEY LEFT to spend in Target for the month because I spent all my money on a new Kate Spade planner that matches my bag.

Good Night.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 4, 2008 9:48 pm

    So, if you see me at Target, please tell me I look cute. Actually, tell me to get out of Target because I have NO MONEY LEFT

    laughed all the way out loud at this line!

    great post… it’s wise to practice- I know it’s going to be a great journey for you 😉

  2. May 5, 2008 7:43 pm

    Ouch! Bedtimes and alarm clocks are not my friends.

Leave a Reply

