Skip to content

Hugh Else?

May 16, 2008

Reasons I Am in Love With Hugh:

1. My husband’s name is Hugh (oh!). When we were in college (before I knew him), he ran a campaign for student government and put signs saying “Hugh Else?” all over campus. I thought it was so cool and I put one up in my dorm room.

2. When I write Haikus on my blog, he leaves me a comment IN HAIKU FORM. Yeah!

3. He forgives me every time I overspend at Target – which, though less frequent, still happens. Sorry, Hugh – but those new Joy Grayson bags are so cute.

4. Hugh rubbed my back every night for an hour and a half while I was on bed rest with Lucy. It helped with the pain as he would, night after night, lovingly rub each inch of my back. Sometimes I would cry because it felt so good to have some relief.

5. Hugh calls me cute, funny names like “Pancake” and “Cutie Eyes”.

6. Hugh pays our taxes, mows our laws, and balances our budget. Having grown up without a dad, all of these things somehow still seem new to me. I had never seen a man take care of a family before but Hugh does every day. Sometimes when he mows the lawn, I sit in front of the window where he can’t see me and I watch him.

7. He drops everything if I need, really need, him.

8. Hugh is brilliant. He is the smartest person I have ever known and I love just being able to talk to him.

9. Hugh can make me laugh harder than anyone else.

10. Finally, I love Hugh because of how he loves me. I have never been so loved, so known, so taken care of, so intimate with anyone before Hugh. His acceptance and delight in me is overwhelming at times.

Thanks, Dawn, for the tag. My brain is seriously half-dead this morning from continued lack of sleep (MUST. KEEP. GETTING. UP.) – but I am glad I had a chance to reflect on the reasons why I love my man so much.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 16, 2008 2:50 pm

    Awwwww… now I love Hugh, too! 🙂

  2. May 20, 2008 1:04 am

    HUGH ELSE!!!!!

    HAHAHA! *Snort* Hahaha!

    funny stuff… touching post.

    Hooray for great husbands!

Leave a Reply

