Skip to content

What Would Jess Do?

May 23, 2008

So all of us who have had that veil removed can see and reflect the glory of the Lord. And the Lord—who is the Spirit—makes us more and more like him as we are changed into his glorious image.

-2 Corinthians 3:18

Last night after my weekly Bible study was over Hugh and I had a few minutes to connect before going to sleep.

We lay in bed and talked over the coming day, and I told him about the different things I had going on. He was silent for a moment, and then asked, “Um, why didn’t you talk to me about these plans, Jess?” as he slipped his arm around my waist.

This is where, I am sorry to say, I became immature. I pushed his hand away and told him I didn’t want to talk to him anymore. “I’m tired,” I said – but I was actually just irritated that he was confronting me on not talking with him about my plans before I made them.

Three seconds later (because my man is tired) he was snoring. Loudly. In my ear. I felt this little twinge of sadness at how I handled the situation, but figured it was a small thing. I mean, pushing Hugh’s hand away is a lot better then explosive anger, right?

This morning as I read 2 Corinthians 3, I was struck by just how much my actions were not like those of Jesus. Was I reflecting the glory of God towards Hugh? I have had the veil removed, I have the Holy Spirit of God in me, and that needs to be reflected in my marriage.

Paul says that the Holy Spirit will make me more and more like Jesus as I am conformed to His image. I want to walk in this truth. I need to become more like Jesus – and I seriously doubt that Jesus would push Hugh’s hand away. Nor would He dismiss my actions as a small thing – any wall that I put up in my marriage is a serious thing – as I should have learned by now.

I want to make choices to keeping pressing on to become more like Christ. I do not want to become satisfied with only “little” sins or small bad attitudes – no. I want to day by day become conformed to His image.

So when Hugh is talking to me, instead of tuning him out, I listen. When I feel like overspending at Target, I pause. When I want to disengage as a mom, I go and spend intentional time with my children.

Little by little. More and more. Like Jesus.

Father, I love you. Please show me each day what it looks like to become more like your Son. I want the love of Christ to so consume me that I am spurred onward and upward into becoming conformed into His image. Holy Spirit, you are the Counselor – please show me. In the name of Jesus, Amen.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2008 12:07 am

    I can’t tell you how many times I have found myself in the same place. Feeling self-satisfied that I’ve only done something wrong “a little bit.” Then being totally convicted that that little bit is huge to God.

    Someone once said that sin is like stains on a sheet. Under dim light, it looks clean and white. But once you get it out into bright light, you notice more and more stains. So, it’s a good thing that you are “being called out” on the little stuff (little in our mind anyway) because it means we are getting closer to God and gaining a deeper understanding of His holiness.

    Good post!

  2. May 24, 2008 11:57 pm

    what a good good reminder…you have such good wisdom jess…thank you! Blessings and hugs….

Leave a Reply

