Skip to content

This Morning, In My Prayer Chair

May 28, 2008

6:01 am – I thank Amanda and hang up the phone. “Are you up?” she has asked groggily – and I marvel (not for the first time) at how blessed I am to have a best friend who has committed to call me every morning to hold me accountable for getting up early.

“You aren’t going to be able to sleep in when you go back to teaching,” she told me firmly, “so you need to start getting used to getting up now.”

6:02 am – I grip my coffee and turn on my computer. I am alert! I am excited! I know that I am going to meet with God this morning! I put on my iPod and turn it to my “Time With God 2” playlist.

6:04 am – I turn on my Bible software and bring up my Prayer Word document. I click on my Biblesoft “Daily Bread” devotion.

6:06 am – I read a portion of Psalm 119 as my cat starts to play with the doorstop. I leap out of my chair and shove him away from the wall, frantic that the noise will wake up my three-year-old sleeping in the next room.

6:08 am – I start to read my next devotional book – a book on Genesis. Yes! This is so good. I am still alert and focused.

6:09 am – I realize that I am really tired.

6:15 am – I finish my reading and start to pray. I figure I need to be honest with God. “Lord, I am really tired and having a hard time staying awake. Could you please help me out?”

6:16 am – My cat jumps on my computer, almost spilling my coffee. I feel this rush of anger at him and wish I could throw him out of the room, but I am worried that he will go into my children’s rooms and wake them up.

6:31 am – I finish praying. I have prayed over my husband and my children. I have prayed for Amanda and for Erin. I tried to ask God some questions about some things going on in my heart but I struggled to focus and keep my eyes open.

6:33 am – I turn my iPod to a really loud, upbeat worship song and decide to spend some time focusing on God’s Presence. I am hoping that the loud music will help me wake up.

6:35 am – I sing and praise the Lord, my hands lifted.

6:36 am – My cat jumps up and starts butting his head against my uplifted hands, totally breaking my concentration on the Holy Presence of God. I feel even more angry and wonder why I even have a cat.

6:41 am – The song finishes, and I try again to pray over a major issue in my life, asking God to come and speak clearly.

6:43 am – I realize I have spent the last two minutes thinking about my new jeans instead of trying to listen to the Holy Spirit about the thing I was praying about.

6:44 am – My prayer time is done.

Sometimes I hear from God. Sometimes every Word of the Bible seems to speak directly to me. Other times, I think about my jeans and my cat while trying to stay awake. I think there was a time when mornings like this would have made me worried. “Do I have a bad prayer life? What’s wrong with me? Should I have read the Bible more?”

I don’t feel like that anymore. This morning I got up and I did meet with God. I have spent time in the Word and I have surrendered my day to Him. I have opened myself up to the Holy Spirit and focused (even just for a few minutes) on who He is.

My biggest takeaway from this morning is simply this:

My cat is going to be locked up in the laundry room every morning from now on.

Amen.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2008 11:02 pm

    oh you make me laugh 😉 thank you friend!

  2. May 29, 2008 12:02 am

    my cats seem to want to be thrown across the room OFTEN

  3. Amanda McEwen permalink
    May 29, 2008 7:22 am

    I have always suspected that your cat is possessed, this just confirms it. HA HA HA
    Thank you for what you said about being distracted and that not being a reflection of your prayer life. I needed to hear that.
    Love you
    Amanda McQuin

  4. May 29, 2008 3:19 pm

    Thanks for your super encouraging comment. I truly appreciate it!
    And thanks for your honesty about your quiet time this morning! It is so good to hear that others have days they just can’t seem to “tune in”, too. You are a blessing!
    Kimberly

  5. May 29, 2008 5:18 pm

    My sister told me she prayed this morning that God would help her get up and meet with Him and her cat started puking on her bed. She jumped up, rushed the cat outside…realized how tired she was and went back to bed. 🙂 I think God really laughs with joy at His crazy daughters sometimes.

  6. May 29, 2008 7:43 pm

    Sigh. I know this one.
    Love ya, sis.
    Di

  7. May 29, 2008 10:05 pm

    Oh my goodness! That made me laugh because it reminded me SO much of similar mornings I’ve had. Thank you so much for sharing your stories. I really enjoy reading your blog.

Leave a Reply

