Skip to content

Part Three…Sorry

June 3, 2008

I wrote a very long and detailed entry about my last week. It was full of pain and scripture. Hugh read it silently last night and said maybe everything is too fresh. I should wait to blog about it.

So. I am going to be completely boring. I have two purposes in this post. A Question and a Thank You.

First – a question. I am fully aware that there is the chance I will ask and NO ONE will comment and I will feel lame but I am still wanting to get ideas so I am asking anyway.

The Question: What is your favorite Bible study? Is there something you have done that took you deep into God’s Word? A Beth Moore Study? Something else? I need suggestions.

Please?

Second – the Thank You.

Amanda,

Thank you for being a good enough friend to tell me the hard things. Not just the “don’t go to Target” hard things – but the “you are headed for some serious disaster” hard things. God has used you so much in my life and this last week has been another time when I want to cry in thankfulness.

I wish I had enough money to send you and Chris on a cruise next year for your ten year anniversary. I wish I could do or say something that lets you know how much I am…just grateful for you.

Thank you for spending the day with me. Thank you for letting me cry and swear these last few days with you when Hugh needed a break. Thank you for making me my favorite comfort food – dump cake – in my kitchen and for cleaning my floors while I sat on the couch talking to you. Thank you for listening, for praying, for encouraging, and for being a living example to me of iron sharpening iron.

I love you,

Jess

12 Comments leave one →
  1. June 3, 2008 4:38 pm

    Hey Sweet Jess,
    First, a thank you for you to give to your wonderful husband! Second a question, what are you wanting to study right now? I have been doing Bible studies for hmmmm….12 years straight, done a lot of them.

    One book I think you may really like is called Learning to Trust God by Deborah Kern. I got it to do with one of my friends because I thought she needed it and discovered it was for me! It is a devotional / workbook and the scriptures hit me so hard and fresh and wonderfully. It isn’t in print, so you have to find a used one that hasn’t been written in. The Confident Woman by Anabel Gilham changed my life. It is about knowing who you are in Christ.

    If you are going to do a study with friends, Priscilla Shirer’s second study called Discerning the Voice of God is really good. And any/all of Beth’s are good. Breaking Free and Believing God are the best for healing, I think.

    You can email me if you want so I don’t take up any more room on your blog. 🙂

  2. June 3, 2008 5:34 pm

    My favorite studies ever have been Bethie’s… Believing God and Beloved Disciple. I also love Priscilla Shirer.

    I need to pray for an Amanda in my life. I’m so glad you have her.

    Hope you’re doing ok. Miss you and can’t wait to see you! Do you have dates yet?

  3. Amanda McEwen permalink
    June 3, 2008 6:02 pm

    sniff sniff. i love you too girl.

  4. June 3, 2008 9:24 pm

    I am sorry this has been a rough week or so. But I am so glad you know to turn to the Word for His truth. And I am so glad you have Hugh and Amanda. I love how God takes care of us…even through our loved ones.

    For going deep into the Word, I have always loved Beth Moore myself…but I am sure there are tons of great Bible Studies out there that I don’t know about! How about this…before I go to sleep tonight, I’ll pray for you. Pray that God leads you to the study He has for you, pray that He will comfort you and love all over you!

    Love,
    K

  5. hkudla permalink
    June 4, 2008 12:15 am

    Jess,
    I am working through the 90 day devotional on David by Beth Moore. Official title “David 90 days with a heart like his.” I am hoping to get the 90 day one that she did on Jesus as well.
    also i heard that the “streams in the desert” deovtional is really good. I haven’t done it yet myself, but I am thinking that I might try that next if it is less expensive than the beth Moore one… it is a year long one.
    Just a couple of thoughts for you. Hope it helps. I have had a hard time finding something myself that i have been able to use to get into scripture, especially when i have trouble carving out time for myself to be truly alone to spend with God.
    Love you and hope this next week is better!!!
    Heather

  6. June 4, 2008 1:44 am

    Jess,
    I bookmarked the last 2 entries and this one to come back and remember to pray for you… I am so sorry you’re having such a rotten time. I’m glad He’s sent a friend and some scriptures to comfort you. He is certainly good at supplying for our needs.
    I don’t have a Bible study to recommend to you, but I did want to pop over and let you know how much I enjoy your writing- how encouraging your journey is for me… and to offer to you a little encouragement in return whenever you need it. just email anytime.
    -amber

    ps- as I was thinking about you just now, it occurred to me that you might like the Experiencing God study… some of my most favorite Christian girlfriends have told me it rocked their world…have you already done that one?

  7. Laura permalink
    June 4, 2008 7:19 am

    Dear Jess, my sisters and I live in Michigan, Wyoming and Minnesota. We meet once a week via 3-way call and we are doing Randy Alcorn”s Heaven. There are two different studies and we’re doing the one with the 4-5 questions a chapter. It’s wonderful. JUst a glimpse of what Heaven may be like and a reminder of why Jesus came for us, that He never stops coming for us and so wants to be with us. And the fact that us girls can “get together” once a week is such a blessing. Thanks again for your blog!

  8. June 4, 2008 11:04 am

    Jess,

    I love Beth’s Believing God and Patriarchs. I also love I’m Torn Between Two Masters by Kay Author (A study on The Sermon on the Mount). My sister-in-law always recommends Clam My Anxious Hear: A Woman’s Guide to Finding Contentment by Linda Dillow. My mom-in-law is doing the study now and it has really helped her with Dave’s dad’s cancer fight. Those are the ones that popped into my mind when I read your question.

    Let us know what you chose. We are all looking for a good study to do.

    Lisa

  9. June 4, 2008 12:26 pm

    Beth Moore’s Breaking Free was wonderful.

  10. June 6, 2008 7:24 am

    Hi Jess,
    Yesterday was my first visit to your blog and I made a note to stop by again. Don’t have lots of time to explore this morning but saw this entry and wanted to add my two cents… We’ve done lots of Beth studies here in our office Bible study and they are all awesome…A Heart Like His, Jesus, the One and Only, When Godly People Do Ungodly Things, Beloved Disciple. Right now we’re doing He Speaks to Me by Priscilla Shirer (daughter of Tony Evans). It is an amazing study. It’s teaching us how to discern the voice of God in our prayer life. So often you pray and you think you’re sensing an answer but then you wonder, is this because this is what I want or is this what God is saying, etc…? I highly recommend this one! I think if you go to youtube.com and type in Priscilla Shirer, you can watch the intro video to see what you think. = ) Looking forward to visiting again soon!

    Blessings,
    Tracy

    P.S. Your thankfulness for your friend Amanda touched my heart. What a sweet blessing she is! = )

  11. November 4, 2008 4:28 pm

    This post is older now, but if you’re still looking for Bible studies (after all, you probably won’t run out!), any of Kay Arthur’s Precepts studies are amazing. She takes you so deep into the Word…I love it. Her “Lord” series is good as well, although not quite as intense.

    I know TJ really enjoyed Joyce Meyer’s Battlefield of the Mind.

  12. November 10, 2008 4:14 pm

    I was going to say, “I know this post isn’t recent, but you can never have too many good Bible studies. I really loved Joyce Meyer’s Battlefield of the mind and I’m also enjoying Bill Johnson’s Strengthen Yourself in the Lord. I don’t believe there’s a study guide that goes with it, but I’d be happy to ask my group leader sto email me a copy of the guide they wrote and email it to you.” However, since Kare beat me here, I’ll stick with the part about Bill Johnson. 🙂

Leave a Reply

