Skip to content

John McCain, My Toilet, and Eggs

June 4, 2008

Things To Do While Sick in Bed (in between trips to the bathroom to throw up):

1. Ask my husband to make me scrambled eggs since I haven’t thrown up in a while. He points out that eggs are not part of the BRAT diet (bananas, rice, applesauce, and toast). I think since I am over the age of six, I shouldn’t have to do the stupid BRAT diet. I want some nice eggs with a little cracked pepper.

2. I read all my favorite blogs. I click on some of their links. You know, there are some really awesome women out there that I think I am going to add to my bloglines. Like this woman. And this one.

3. I hear Hugh helping the children clean up the house. Clean up the house, people! Glory! They take a brief break to address the “hitting your brother in the gut” thing, but my house is looking good!

4. I watch the news and think about the foreign policy stump speech that John McCain is making. I have many thoughts about it. I make mental notes so that I can talk it over with Hugh. I have recently rediscovered how much I love talking to my husband about politics. Politics runs in Hugh’s family – his dad is a judge (elected in Indiana – there will be parades to be in this summer -ugh – but I get to see Cindy when we go – woo hoo!).

5. I think about catching up on all my emails but I am worried that I feel too nasty.

6. INSERT FUNNY THING.

I reread my recent posts and they are – um- sad. I wanted to end this post with something so delightful and hilarious that you would FALL OUT OF YOUR CHAIR on the floor.

Oh well.

I will leave you with this compliment I just received from my three-year-old. She just came into my room where I am trying not to puke again, pointed at me, and said with a happy grin:

“You are the biggest Mommy I know!”

Um. Ha ha.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2008 2:05 pm

    I am SO sorry you are sick! I would ask if they would clean my house, too, but I think I’ll pass on the throwing up! Praying you feel better soon!

    Ahhhhh, the compliments of a three year old. Nice. 🙂

    Love ya’,
    K

  2. June 4, 2008 4:13 pm

    I’m so sorry I’m laughing so hard at that last sentence. 🙂 I’m pretty sure I’m the biggest mommy my kids know. I have heard these words, “Mommy, you have a big, big bottom!” 😉

  3. June 4, 2008 5:11 pm

    Yuck! I hope you are feeling better! Thanks for the sweet comment about my post today! 🙂

  4. June 4, 2008 5:29 pm

    Thanks for visiting my blog! I so like this virtual world we all live in; don’t you? A lectionary is like an organized way to make sure you read Scripture daily. Our local church doesn’t use it, but I like the idea of having a structured process like that. Sometimes you’ll see more liturgical churches having “A” years, “B” years, and “C” years, and all that means is that the whole Bible is broken down into a 3-year cycle of reading. Cool ideas. The Body of Christ is awesome — and very diverse yet centered on the One who is Christ. Amen. Hope you get to feeling better.

  5. June 4, 2008 6:10 pm

    Well your sweet and well-intending daughter did make me laugh out loud! My (then 3-year-old) nephew told my sis that she walks funny. It’s been 9 years and she still has a complex about it! Thanks for the little laugh today!
    Hope you feel better soon.
    -Meg

  6. hkudla permalink
    June 4, 2008 10:38 pm

    Dear Jess,
    Thank you for the comment about my blog. I am blessed. Seriously, it was a wonderful end to a very long, tiring day… that included counseling, a fun time with a good friend, and a long, long, long choir rehearsal. followed by a trip to walmart… sigh, what an aweful way to end the day… trying to get through that store WITHOUT buying things that are not on your list!!!!!!
    But this post of yours made me laugh, especially the 3 yr. old comment. My son has popped off some good ones to me too… but it is so rewarding when eventually the little ones say “mommy, you are so pretty.” Aren’t those the ones we live for?!
    I will be praying that you get better quickly… because didn’t you know the unwritten rule, mommys aren’t supposed to get sick!
    God bless you,
    heather

  7. June 5, 2008 8:32 am

    That last sentence is priceless. Such a 3 year old thing to say. I hope you get to feeling better soon and get your eggs!

  8. November 10, 2008 4:18 pm

    Right there with you. The other day Sean was hugging me and I hugged back and said, “You’re such a big boy now. I love my big boy.” He snuggled in and replied, “I love my big mommy.” Thanks, kiddo. At least I know that from a 3-yr-old point of view, big is good.

Leave a Reply

