Skip to content

Jess, MD

June 23, 2008

“Hugh, will you please by me the Lenovo ThinkPad X61? That way I don’t need to type. I can just use the fun stylus to blog and email.”
“Um, no.”
– Jess and Hugh

A few months ago, I started noticing some numbness in my right hand. I, being busy with things like building my work wardrobe and planning my vacation, decided to ignore it.

The numbness has gotten worse, and I now have constant pain in my wrist. It is difficult for me to open my hand.

Hugh has been telling me to go to the doctor for about a month. But I have WebMD – surely I don’t need a doctor! Besides, I don’t want to go.

Ah!!!!

My hand gets worse when I type. A lot worse. So Hugh took my laptop. (Well, first he told me to just reduce my typing. Which didn’t work at all. CAN’T. STOP.)

He told me to WRITE OUT a post and he’d type it in for me. He told me I MUST go to the doctor. He is being loving and sweet, and I am just mad that I don’t have my laptop.

I asked God to please heal my hand this morning. I know He can – but I also know I need to trust Him if He does not.

Quite possibly, the thing that needs healing the most is my attitude towards Hugh.

So if you talk to me this week and I am grumpy, you will know why.

If I only post haikus for the next two months, you will understand.

And now, off to call the doctor. Bleh.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2008 9:11 am

    Sounds like Carpal Tunnel Syndrome, or repetitive Motion Syndrome. See, I’m as good as WebMD or any REAL doctor.
    Braces will help, and not doing the repetitive thing that is causing the pain.
    Oh, yeah, and stop blogging. HA!! Yeah, big HA!

  2. June 23, 2008 1:38 pm

    I’ll pray for your hand, your attitude, you husband and your doc.
    Gotta go get busy!
    Love,
    Di

  3. June 23, 2008 11:11 pm

    I totally know about that pain. My dumb doctor said it was from dehydration. Can’t wait to see what your Dr says.

    will pray!

  4. June 24, 2008 1:06 am

    Oooh, I’m so sorry to hear this. You definitely need to get it checked out though. Hugh is such a good man.

    I’ve noticed that my pinky finger is always sore now – I’m thinking it’s from always typing in the tilda in my blog name. Ah, blogging is such a dangerous activity. We are such daredevils.

Leave a Reply

