Skip to content

Oh, What A Beautiful Morning!

July 5, 2008

This morning was wonderful.

For the first time in several weeks, I woke up without any hand pain. My hand could open and close and I could feel all my fingers.

“How’s your hand?” Hugh mumbled from his side of the bed as he heard me take off my brace.

“Ooooh… Ooooh…” I said, feeling each finger gingerly, “So good.”

I don’t have words. Physical pain is so deeply draining, so consuming – even when I’ve tried to focus on God and my family these last few weeks, I’ve given only a small fraction of myself. The rest has been focused on the pain.

But not today. Today I made coffee, whispering under my breath, “this is the day you have made, Lord, I will rejoice and be glad.” I sat with my family at the table for breakfast, I noticed how cute my husband looked making instant oatmeal, and I took a bath.

I have forgotten each day is a gift.

My health is a gift.

Reading the Bible in the tub and focusing on Jesus is a gift.

Having the energy to be fully present with my family today is a gift.

I have no guarantee that my wrist treatment will hold; I still may need surgery. But today I am going to be fully alive with my family. I will live today with a joyful and happy heart, saying:

“This is the day You have made, Father. I will rejoice and be glad in it (Psalm 118:24).”

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 5, 2008 2:37 pm

    I am so happy for you! Praying that your hand will continue to feel as good as it does today!

  2. sumijoti permalink
    July 5, 2008 8:27 pm

    I am so glad your hand feels better. Pain is a real downer.

  3. Alicia permalink
    July 6, 2008 6:12 am

    Wonderful!!! and you are so right, each day is truly a gift!

  4. July 6, 2008 9:50 pm

    Hey there. Hope you’re feeling better. I pulled my back out last night, transferring frozen chicken from the garage freezer up to the kitchen freezer. Not a pretty sight, and now I’m gimpy. I feel a blog coming on. Either that or a country song…

    God bless.

  5. July 6, 2008 10:36 pm

    yeah!!! so happy for you! i’ll keep praying for you my friend!

Leave a Reply

