Skip to content

My Phone Call With Amanda

July 15, 2008

Amanda: Hello?

Me (sobbing): Um, hey.

Amanda: How was your appointment with the orthopedist?

Me: Bad. I am in a horrible mood and he says I will probably need surgery like the second week of August which is really close to when I start teaching and he gave me another steroid shot in my other wrist and I am afraid I’ll start puking again…(continue to cry).

Amanda: Why don’t you come over and we’ll pray and talk?

Me (crying more): I don’t know. I think I should go home and take some tylenol or something. Geez, I feel like crap…Just crap!

Amanda: O-kay, well, you call me if you change your mind. Listen, I’ll be here all day. Chris and I aren’t leaving for dinner till after six….

Me: Dinner? Oh, Amanda! It’s your anniversary. I am so sorry. I totally forgot. I am sorry….(crying again). I am such CRAP.

Amanda: Stop it. I love you.

This is an example of why every woman needs a best friend like Amanda.

O-kay, off to find some tylenol.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2008 6:33 pm

    Hey Jess, My heart is aching for you. You are right to cry, but don’t fear the future. Your sweet God has that all worked out with your absolute best interest at heart.

  2. July 15, 2008 7:13 pm

    Praying for you!

  3. July 15, 2008 7:28 pm

    I’ve been lurking for a few weeks. Just wanted to drop in and say hang in there. A few years ago I went through something similar- the “official” diagnosis became bilateral wrist strain. Whatever- I could not raise my hands above my waist without excruciating pain, and forget about daily activities such as anything involving fine motor skills.

    However, God was totally there for me. At the time all I knew was that I was in pain, could not physically do my job, was treated horribly by my coworkers, and my family was picking up the slack for me. It sucked! Thankfully God had a better plan for me. I recovered, got a fabulous job, and am now grateful for the experience because it is another reminder that I do not chose my path, the one God has planned for me is so much better.

    I’ll be praying for you.

  4. July 15, 2008 11:28 pm

    been praying, and will continue to. so sad for this… but hopeful- I can’t wait to see what He is going to do with this story!!!!

  5. Amanda McQueen permalink
    July 17, 2008 1:42 pm

    Who is this Amanda? She sounds spectacular!!

Leave a Reply

