Skip to content

Bless Hugh’s Little Heart

July 17, 2008

Hugh woke up in a bad mood. That happens for him maybe once a year.

We sat on the couch talking over all the things he was feeling stressed out about. As he talked, I started to move from “loving/listening wife” to “defensive/angry wife”. I thought about all of the things I wanted to tell him. Angry retorts were on the tip of my tongue. I wanted to start listing off things that I, too, was stressed out about.

I was literally about to open my mouth and start yelling when I had this little thought float through the back of my foggy brain:

“If I yell at Hugh, I am not going to be as close to God today. When I pray, I will have to spend a lot of time repenting for my attitude instead of diving right into the Word.”

Huh.

I really love my husband, but I love Jesus more. I figured that it wasn’t worth it. One minute of indulging my flesh wasn’t worth separating me even an inch from the Presence of God today. I need Him too much. I am too desperate for Him right now.

I took a deep breath. I prayed for God’s strength. I finished listening to Hugh. Then I made up a cup of coffee and grabbed my Bible and headed to my prayer chair.

And my time with Him was really sweet this morning. His Word spoke to me and I read Romans 8 out loud and I prayed for our Bible study tonight and…it was good.

Woo hoo! “The mind set on the flesh is death, but the mind set on the Spirit is life (woo hoo!) and peace (woo hoo! )….”

Lord, yeah! Thank you for helping me have some small measure of control this morning! I love you so much. Amen.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 17, 2008 5:37 pm

    It is shocking how delightful self-control is huh? 🙂

  2. July 21, 2008 9:19 am

    That is a really good way to look at things. Way to go on reigning in your temper! I will keep this in mind today. Happy Blogaversary!
    Angela

  3. July 24, 2008 5:35 pm

    I am so inspired by this post and your blog! I’ll be back to read more. Thank you for your transparency.

Leave a Reply

