Skip to content

My Morning So Far

July 23, 2008

“God is our refuge and my strength, always ready to help in times of trouble” (Psalm 46:1).

My little brother called me last night. I don’t talk about him much on my blog – he’s 22, lives in my town, and is very cool. So I don’t want to say anything that could embarrass him – so usually I say nothing about him at all. I write things about him, though. I just don’t post them.

I was expecting his call because his doctor’s office had been calling our house all day. “Is Jonny there?” they kept asking.

“Um, no.” I would tell them. He hasn’t lived with us in almost a year – a big change from the years he spent with us on and off in high school and full time since high school graduation.

“What did they want?” I asked him.

Something is wrong with his liver. They found bumps all over his lungs. Today he has a CT scan and I want to take him. He can’t drive himself because lately, he says, he is just too tired to drive.

I think he’s fine. I know he’s fine. No way could something be wrong with my brother, right? I really, really, really can’t comprehend it. At. All.

So I got up early and prayed and showered and made my family this really huge breakfast because I can’t sit down. I just keep waiting for Jonathan to call so we can go to the hospital, he can have his test, and then I can calm down again.

I think he’s fine. I know he’s fine.

Lord, I love you. I know you love Jona. I ask for your peace and Presence today. In the name of your Son, Amen.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. July 23, 2008 9:24 am

    Prayin with you that Jona is fine…..

  2. July 23, 2008 9:45 am

    Lifting up Jonathan and you in prayer!

  3. July 23, 2008 9:50 am

    Oh, Jess, I’m sure you are nervous, but just lift it all up to God. Try not to get too worked up when everything is still an unknown.

    I’m praying for you both.

  4. July 23, 2008 10:33 am

    Jess, I will be praying for you and your brother. Know that you are not fighting alone but God ordained these things for His glory! I’m praying for the doctors as well!

    Stand strong!

  5. July 23, 2008 12:39 pm

    Praying from over here.
    Love you.

  6. July 23, 2008 1:06 pm

    praying for you both

  7. July 23, 2008 4:51 pm

    PRAYING! Keep us up to date!

  8. July 23, 2008 6:44 pm

    I am adding my prayers to everyone else’s. I know how nerve racking it can be to have someone you love in such a situation. Blessings for you both, and the rest of your family, too.

  9. July 23, 2008 8:53 pm

    Praying for God to give you strength and peace. Praying for Jona, too.

  10. July 23, 2008 10:43 pm

    Standing with you in prayer for little brother.
    We will pray…BELIEVING for healing and good health.

  11. Alicia permalink
    July 24, 2008 7:37 am

    Praying here also…..

  12. July 24, 2008 7:41 am

    Praying for you today.

Leave a Reply

