Skip to content

Things I’ve Been Doing Instead of Blogging

August 9, 2008

l. Finishing all my lesson planning and decorating my seventh-grade classroom. And I’m done – glory!!

2. Watching the Olympics. Crying during the Parade of Nations at the sight of all the different countries.

3. Trying to decide if I should read the Twilight series. I’m pretty sure it’s a no-go. Plus, the author is a Mormon, and as a former Mormon, I try to stay away from LDS writers. But, darn it,  I want some long, enjoyable fiction to read as l fall asleep each night…

4. Talking to Hugh about a good friend of mine from college who is unhappy with me and doesn’t want to be my friend anymore. (At least, that’s how it seems – she hasn’t taken my calls for weeks. I mean, this is someone who was. in. my. wedding. Sigh.) I am surprised at how sharp the pain is – I go to call her and think, “Oh, wait. I can’t.” Then it hurts again.

S. Reading and tickling my children before bed. Since I’ve spent less time with them over the last two weeks, I have become really intentional in touching and loving and laughing with them when I’m not getting ready for school.

I have next week off from work, so expect really deep posts about The Princess Diaries and my inability to cook dinner even when I’m home all day.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. August 9, 2008 6:44 pm

    The friend thing stinks. I went through something like that when a friend stopped speaking to me a few years ago over something that seemed so small. It was awful to deal with since we’d been very close for quite a few years before. I now realize that the relationship wasn’t good for me anyway, but it sure did hurt at the time!

    I’ve got one more week before I start back to working at our school so I’ll be off next week too. Enjoy your week!!

  2. August 9, 2008 10:14 pm

    I am so sorry about the situation with your friend. That is so hard. I hope that God is able to give you some peace in that situation. May He give you wisdom on how to handle it.

    Oh, and about not being able to cook dinner…maybe you could try to talk your man into a cook to go with the houasekeeper you would like to talk him into. Yet again, let me know how you talk him into these as I would VERY much like a housekeeper and a cook. 🙂 Meal planning…who needs the pressure? hee hee

  3. tawny permalink
    August 10, 2008 8:19 pm

    I am just getting ready to start reading the fourth Twilight book. I LOVE them. They aren’t so good for me as bedtime books though. I can’t quit reading them. She doesn’t touch on religion very much at all. I love how dramatic she is with emotions. And it isn’t that scary. I hate scary.

  4. August 11, 2008 12:08 am

    *waits with bated breath for princess diary posts*

  5. August 11, 2008 2:13 pm

    Your #3 just makes me mad. And sad.

    You know I’ve been there, done that. Girls. Ugh. I’m sorry, friend. But can you picture me doing your little hand motion back at you?

    But- THANK YOU for putting it in a post and refuting the lie that I’m often tempted to believe that I am the only one. Love you.

  6. Joy F. permalink
    August 11, 2008 5:10 pm

    I understand about the friend thing too because I’ve been there. Made me have a degree of empathy for those who have been through a divorce. Separation hurts. But what I really want to talk about is the opening ceremonies. Amazing!!! Seriously- like cirque de soleil on steroids. Like that thing with the boxes- and I was sure it was a giant computer and it was people!!! The amount of serious choreography and precision and wonder of it all. I loved the little girl flying the kite in the air.

  7. tawny permalink
    August 12, 2008 9:35 am

    Twilight Update: Finished the fourth one and I wasn’t as comfortable with it as the others, haven’t figured out why yet. Haven’t decided if it was worth reading or not. Depends on how long I have vampires running around in my head. 🙂

Leave a Reply

