Skip to content

4:00am…

September 4, 2008

I woke up at 4:00am this morning.  When Hugh is traveling for work, sometimes I don’t sleep as well.  Since I couldn’t fall back asleep, I shuffled to the kitchen and started my Starbucks brewing.

The best thing about being up so early is that it is so…quiet.  And I had a long time to pray and read Psalm 29 this morning.  We read it this week at Bible study and I keep thinking about the different actions of God in the Psalm.

He echoes…He thunders…He shatters…He splits…He makes…He strikes…He shakes…He twists…He rules…He gives…He blesses.

Ahh.

When I start my prayer time focusing on WHO God is and WHAT He does, everything else in my life and heart sort of slips into a proper perspective for the rest of my day.  My worries shrink, my anxieties abate, and my priorities become clearer.  All of this happens without me even thinking about me – just from focusing on Him.

After I read my Psalm, I read a chapter in my Working Mother book.  My friend Marybeth encouraged me to keep good notes while working so that I could write the SECOND book for Christian working women – but, alas, I think I am too tired.  I think I am beginning to understand why there are no other books out there – all the working moms are too exhausted to write them.

My book encouraged me to take a Shabbat.  It’s important to refrain from doing a lot of work on the weekend like laundry and bills – try to rest and focus on God and my family. “You must prepare for this day,” the writer instructed.  So after I prayed I ordered online groceries for the weekend (woo hoo! online shopping!) and finished the laundry.  Yeah! I will be totally set for the weekend.

(Hm. This may be my most boring post ever.  Well, I did get up at 4am. Sorry.)

School? It’s going well. Really, really well. I am so glad to be back teaching and I completely love my students.

I am sleepy but happy this morning.  I’m glad I prayed so I could tell God some stuff in my heart.  I’m excited that I read something from the Bible that I can carry with me today on a little note card.

Maybe I should get up this early every day.

But then I’d really never write that book.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. September 4, 2008 9:09 am

    I liked this entry. 🙂 I feel like I know you a little bit better!

    Hey — where do you do your online shopping? That’s intriguing!

  2. Taylor K. permalink
    October 22, 2008 3:01 pm

    i want to know where you didn’t your online grocery shopping too!

Leave a Reply

