Skip to content

To Jess From Hugh

September 6, 2008

Dear Jess,

I miss you. I’m sitting here in the Charlotte airport waiting for my flight, and I just realized how much I’ve missed you lately.

I’m sorry I’ve been frustrated with you. I am so afraid of my own inadequacy, of not being able to handle more family responsibility, of dropping the ball with something important – so I’ve been expecting too much, asking too much of you. I guess I’ve wanted to feel like you’ll still be there to pick up the pieces if I mess something up. But that’s not fair to you. You deserve the same freedom to figure out how to handle your job that you’ve given me for years. So I commit to giving you that freedom – whatever I’ve asked of you that’s beyond what you are able to handle, I release you. I will take on responsibility for figuring out those things (if they’re crucial) or leaving them unresolved (if they’re not). In six or twelve (or eighteen or twenty-four) months, when you feel more confident in your job, we can revisit some of those things. But I want you to feel the freedom to focus on teaching right now.

The other thing going on for me right now (and back to my original thought) is that I miss you. I feel like we haven’t had any time to slow down and just be together. So much of our time gets taken up by just keeping our heads above water – and when we do have free time, it seems like it gets devoured by work projects (yours and mine) or that we’re just too exhausted to focus on each other.

I know, though, that this is only a season. Every week, every month will get easier, and we will figure out how to handle this in due time. So I will wait for you, and trust that we will have a stronger, better, more vibrant marriage on the other side of this. I trust you and know that you will give me what you can when you can – and I will be content with that. I know God has called you to this, and I know He will sustain us through it.

I miss you, but I love you – and I can’t wait to be with you soon.
With all my heart,
Hugh

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Amanda McEwen permalink
    September 6, 2008 11:52 am

    I love that man.

  2. September 6, 2008 2:36 pm

    I heart Hugh.

  3. Alicia permalink
    September 6, 2008 8:22 pm

    How sweet!!!

  4. September 6, 2008 11:56 pm

    Looks like God has blessed you Jess with an amazing man!!! Love on him!!!!

  5. September 7, 2008 9:42 pm

    🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂

Leave a Reply

