Skip to content

A Funny Thing Happened On The Way To The Throne

September 8, 2008

“Why would you ever complain, O Jacob,
or, whine, Israel, saying,
‘God has lost track of me.
He doesn’t care what happens to me’?
Don’t you know anything? Haven’t you been listening?
God doesn’t come and go. God lasts.
He’s Creator of all you can see or imagine.
He doesn’t get tired out, doesn’t pause to catch his breath.
And he knows everything, inside and out.
He energizes those who get tired,
gives fresh strength to dropouts.”

Isaiah 40, The Message

I had a terrible, terrible weekend – the kind of weekend that I hope I don’t have again for a while.  The worst part of my weekend is that I still had no time with my husband (I MISS TALKING TO HIM!) and now we have launched into another full week.

I got up at 6:00 this morning, my head full of everything that had happened over the last few days – Hugh’s viral infection, finding nail polish all over the face of Hannajean’s Madame Alexander doll, packing up to come home early from our weekend in Asheville while a feverish Hugh slept, etc…etc…etc…

I briefly thought about skipping my prayer time. After all, I reasoned, I am finding that God is faithful to me without me praying for a long period of time EVERY single day…Besides, I just spent some great time in the Word yesterday…I wasn’t even sure I’d be able to focus (geez, my crazy thoughts – it’s so easy to justify skipping my time).

Sitting down in my prayer chair, I turned on my iPod and started flipping through my Bible. As I began to read, my iPod started playing a song about the blood of Jesus.

Whoosh.

Everything changed. The Spirit fell. I set down my Bible and raised my hands, singing the words softly, “Oh, the blood of Jesus…Oh the blood…”

I kept singing, my heart and mind completely swept up in love for my Savior. I sang and sang, hoping I wasn’t waking the children.

After I worshiped for a while, I opened my Bible, now completely ready to hear from God in His Word.

The thing that is so very, very amazing to me is that I brought God nothing today in prayer.  A sleepy, distracted, grumpy, “didn’t even really want to sit with God” attitude. How could He honor that with His Holy Presence? I mean, shouldn’t I joyfully run to my prayer chair, already showered and ready to read tons of scripture while interceding for everyone in my life?

But one touch from Him – one little drop of Who He is – and my heart softened, my grumpiness melted, my complaining about my weekend ceased, and I just focused on my Lord.

Having a life of prayer is so obviously about Him.  He is in charge, He’s responsible for filling me.  All I ever have to do is show up.

I am so glad I did.

Lord, you are always faithful.  I am in awe of your Presence as you daily fill me.  Lord, when you say, “come”, give me a heart to respond, “Lord, I am coming.” In the name of your Son, Amen.

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 8, 2008 7:19 am

    You were on my heart this weekend and I prayed for you. I remember thinking… “I hope she’s’ having a fantastic weekend… but I wonder if there is a reason God had me pray for her.” Then I read you had a bad weekend! 😦 I am sorry — I hope your upcoming week is a million times better.

    Thank you for your daily witness, it is changing my life. (Oh, I mean, God is using it to change my life!)

  2. September 8, 2008 8:36 am

    amen and amen…amazing how He works sometimes…

  3. September 8, 2008 11:45 am

    This post is such a blessing. I do this same thing. I get really grumpy and can’t focus and feel like not coming and try my best to just show up and the BAM His presence changes everything.

  4. September 8, 2008 12:00 pm

    You are truly my sister, Jess.
    Love you.

  5. September 9, 2008 2:51 pm

    I can put so many expectations on myself when I come to a quiet time…as if it is all dependent on me. But it isn’t. It’s all about Him.

    Thanks for your honesty. I am so glad He meets us, even when all we can muster is just showing up.

    Love you,
    K

  6. September 9, 2008 2:52 pm

    Oh, and I LOVE that passage! Thanks for posting it!

  7. September 9, 2008 3:14 pm

    What a wonderful post. God is always ready for us even when we are not ready for Him. It sounds like you had a great time of worship with the Father. I surfed over from Kimberly’s blog. I have enjoyed visiting. Blessings.

  8. September 9, 2008 8:21 pm

    I love reading your posts so much. What an amazing God we serve!

  9. September 9, 2008 11:23 pm

    once again you bless….I pray God blesses you tenfold more this week. That you have lotsa sunny days….lotsa wet slobbery kisses….lotsa good coffee….and lotsa Jesus showing you more big signs of how much He loves you!

Leave a Reply

