Skip to content

Sabbath

September 16, 2008

Since I went back to work (really, Jess? you ask, you went back to work?!), I haven’t been sleeping well. I wake up between four and five o’clock each morning, my heart racing as my mind is immediately flooded with all I have to do.

At least I’ve been able to spend time in the Word each morning – though I don’t remember much of it!

Saturday night I slept for OVER TEN HOURS!!!!!!!!! I felt so rested and relaxed – until I glanced at the clock.

Uh-oh. Church was starting in less than thirty minutes – there was no way to get ready and out the door to be there even close to on time.

Hugh and I lay in bed staring at the ceiling for a while then decided to stay home. I had to squelch the fear that this decision meant:

1. I am backsliding
2. I will never connect at my new church
3. When I write about this on my blog I will be judged for being a church skipper
4. God isn’t pleased at all with my decision

Moving through the fear, Hugh and I and our children spent the most wonderful day together. I mean, I can’t remember a day so grand!!!!

We did the following:

1. I made Paula Deen’s crock pot mac and cheese and we ate it for lunch and dinner
2. Hugh and I worked on my blog design (SO relaxing)
3. My children played the Wii (this is sounding more and more spiritual!)
4. I took a NINETY minute bath using a ton of Target Soap and Glory products…OOOO!
5. Hugh and I made Southern Living Chocolate Chip Cookies together
6. We had a movie night and watched “Beauty and the Beast” – my favorite movie of ALL TIME (my kids had never seen it)
7. Hugh and I played Phase 10 (he won by five points)
8. I saw my grandmother for a few minutes and chatted
9. My kids got out all their art stuff and spent time drawing at the kitchen table

The best part of the day happened at eleven o’clock. I got really sleepy!!! Hallelujah! I was so relaxed that I was able to fall asleep quickly and easily and sleep until six o’clock.

Sunday was a gift for me – straight from God. I am so aware of Him filling me right now, attending so tenderly to all my needs. I love Him, I love Him, I love Him.

He is so good! I shaved my legs, slept, had time with my family, and I am ready and rested for the life He is calling me to live this week!

Next week, back to church. But this week, a much needed at-home “day of rest.”

🙂

9 Comments leave one →
  1. September 16, 2008 10:13 pm

    We’re church skippers too. I’m not proud of the fact, and we don’t plan to make a permanent thing of it, but our church is going through some major turmoil right now and neither DH nor I feel emotionally equipped to deal with church drama, nor are we ready to start checking out other churches. Our compromise right now is to set aside time each week to listen to the messages online.

  2. September 16, 2008 10:40 pm

    I’m thinking God had a hand in your sleeping late…so glad you had such a wonderful day. You deserve it!

  3. September 17, 2008 12:32 am

    Jess,
    I use to think some of those same thoughts about when I would miss church. But think of it this way. Would God rather have you there with your heart and mind somewhere else? No. Another words those words you keep hearing are words of condemnation and they are not from God. He doesn’t care if you miss church occasionally. Oh my goodness, did I just say that. YES I did! He cares where your heart is. That is what He is keeping up with. Last sunday you were worshiping Him right where you were by honoring your responsibility as a mother and wife and that time you needed to do that. He saw that need. He saw that need for rest in you as well. I don’t believe in coincidences. You slept that long because your body needed it. You took care of you and the things He has blessed you with and there is no better way to glorify Him when He is asking you to do that.

  4. Erin H permalink
    September 17, 2008 8:46 am

    Hmmmm…I can only assume that your web address will be making a change from “jesslovesjesus.com” to “jessskipschurchandeatsmacncheeseandlikesitthatway.com” ????

  5. September 17, 2008 2:43 pm

    Every now and then you have to take a break for yourself. But I know that next week you will be back to embracing your new church and finding more ways to open up and let them close as you see this as yet another opportunity to meet more blessings from God who will further encourage you on your walk.

  6. September 17, 2008 2:50 pm

    You had me at “90 minute bath.” I know that we should be in church every week, but I have also taken a day to just rest. I think that God is in that, too, if it doesn’t become a habit. What a wonderful day! Blessings to you!

    Janis

  7. September 17, 2008 3:21 pm

    Your day sounds AMAZING!!!! I’ve been reading but haven’t had time to comment lately. Your blog design is great. And there’s the sound of my quiet time being over… baby waking up. Well, that was quick. shoot! lol

  8. September 18, 2008 1:23 pm

    You had a day of rest and you honored God in all that you did that Sunday. The enemy was trying to still that peace from you by planting those thoughts in your head. Tell the devil to back off when you have thoughts like that. Our life is a journey and a battle field. The more you draw near to you Savior Jesus you are right he will give you His peace, and His strenght just as you’ve experienced but the enemy wants to get you off track that much more. so keep up the great work and draw near to God with all you got and He will help you do all the rest.
    Love you Blog.
    -Amy

  9. September 18, 2008 9:34 pm

    🙂 This post made me feel all happy and relaxed and joyous with you! I am so glad He gave you the gift of that sweet, sweet day!

Leave a Reply

