Skip to content

Questions for a Windy Monday

September 22, 2008

1. I asked my students to write an answer to the statement: “Something I will never do is…” Why did one of my students write: “….I will never accidentally become addicted to drugs.”

Accidentally?

2. How bad is my breath if I eat the yummy chicken liver and onion cracker dip that my grandmother made me for a snack? (Hint: Hugh won’t come near me right now – AT. ALL.)

3. Why do I hate doing church nursery so much? Haven’t I matured in THIRTY-ONE years enough that I can graciously serve my nursery duty time without wishing I were sick? WHAT is wrong with me?

4. How can I LOVE, LOVE, LOVE teaching SO much now when just a few weeks ago I felt like I was going completely insane with the “back to work/get up early/always wear make-up/tons of grading” stuff? NO MORE! I luuuuuve it!

5. How can I still be undecided in this year’s election? I mean, I like Barack Obama. And John McCain. But I LOVE Sarah Palin. So should I vote for McCain based on my feelings of COMPLETE ADMIRATION AND LOVE for Sarah? Sigh. I don’t know.

6. Why is the McRib sandwich back on the McDonald’s menu? I thought it had a farewell tour last year. Why do I know that?

7. If I am so busy with work and family and loving Jesus, when will I have time to write more on my blog? Or when will I have time to write some really profound book on being set free from childhood pain? Except, well, maybe too many people have written that book. I could write a book called: “Tips to Being Sort of Funny and Not Making Dinner.”

8. Why don’t I shave my legs anymore? THIS IS NOT A JOKE. Ew. Sorry, Hugh. Between the liver and the legs – Well, maybe we are done having children.

9. How early is TOO early to Christmas shop? Will Hugh make me follow his “only buy the kids one gift each because we want to teach them to be grateful” rule this year? I hate that rule. It’s so darn spiritual and I want to spend money we don’t have on gifts we don’t need – that’s the true meaning of Christmas!

10. Why are my toilets pink? Is there such thing as a pink mold? I bet Sarah Palin has never had pink toilets.

Wow. Too many questions. No real answers. Hopefully I will be struck by a grand insight and I can share it with you here.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. September 22, 2008 5:33 pm

    Eeeeh, church nursery. I know what you’re talking about. We keep every other week with the older 1’s class. Some Sunday’s are really tough!

  2. September 22, 2008 6:52 pm

    you’re making me feel guilty for not helping in the nursery … I hate doing nursery duty … we’re Baptist, not Catholic, we don’t believe in purgatory, but we do send people to do nursery duty!

  3. September 23, 2008 11:31 pm

    Great questions…lol

    And you have been tagged for a meme over at my blog. 🙂

  4. September 24, 2008 9:43 am

    this comment page is so pretty, I got distracted and can’t remember what I was going to say.

    I’m glad you’re loving your job… and these questions are so fun to read. wish I could remember what I was going to say here….

  5. September 28, 2008 9:43 pm

    May I reserve a copy now of “Tips to Being Sort of Funny and Not Making Dinner”? 🙂

Leave a Reply

