Skip to content

Phonics, Shmonics…

October 19, 2008

A is for Angry. Why can’t I be nicer to my house guest this weekend?

B is for Best Email From a Pastor Ever. Oh, yes! Pastor Jonathan sent me a great email this weekend talking to me about my church insecurity. It was lovely. I don’t know that I’ve ever received an email from a Pastor before.

C is for Crap. As in, I accidentally said ‘crap’ in class. Oops. My students thought it was funny. I did NOT think it was funny.

D is for Dirty House. Blech.

E is for Early Morning Meeting. Tomorrow. Another night of very little sleep.

F is for Food Not Cooked By Me. Hugh provided dinner for our family the last two nights. Woo Hoo!

G is for Gloss. As in, lip gloss. As in – my complete morning make-up routine. SIGH!

H is for Hard. Teaching middle school can be tough.

I is for Ice Cream. Hugh bought me Moose Tracks when he ran to Target. Mmm!

J is for John Adams. I am reading all about him to prepare to teach about the Revolutionary War.

K is for Knowledge. As in – I have NONE about the Revolutionary War. Is that about…

L is for Lincoln? Or…

M is for Martin Luther? Or…

N is for NEED TO LEARN THE PERIOD OF HISTORY I AM TEACHING.

O is for Overwhelmed. Hm…

P is for Princess Diaries by Meg Cabot. My favorite mindless reading! So embarrassing!

Q is for Q.

R is for Raging Facebook Insecurity. All due to my “oh so popular” best friend, Amanda. She just got on Facebook about twenty minutes ago and already has more friends than me. WHY CAN’T I STOP COMPARING MYSELF TO OTHER PEOPLE??? WHAT IS WRONG WITH ME???!

S is for Senator Obama and Senator McCain. What a seriously fun election to follow.

T is for Thanksgiving Plans. We are staying home this year and I am daydreaming about tons of food, naps, and episodes of Charlie Brown Thanksgiving with my kids. I love this time of year.

U is for Unbelievably Long and Pointless Post.

V is for Very Nice Husband. He just got back from doing our weekly grocery shopping. Not surprisingly, when Hugh shops he spends LESS THAN HALF of what I spend.

W is for Wiggling Five Year Old Girl. Next to me as I type. I love her little face.

X is for Planet X. In astronomy, Planet X is a large hypothetical planet beyond Neptune. (See, I CAN TEACH. Just maybe not about some old war.).

Y is for “You are still reading this? You must like me.”

Z is for Zucchini. Amanda always cooks me a big mess of zucchini with parmesean cheese on it when I spend the day at her house. Take that, millions of Amanda’s friends. HA!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. October 19, 2008 10:45 pm

    Y is for “You are still reading this? You must like me.”

    Y is for yes, I’m still reading. because Yes, I do like you.

    I missed reading your blog… happy to be back.

  2. October 19, 2008 11:05 pm

    Considering that my husband always spends twice as much as I do at the grocery store, consider yourself lucky!

  3. October 20, 2008 12:59 am

    C is for clever – you are hysterical and this was a great way to give us a peek at your life of late. I may have to steal this idea one day just so people think I’m witty and funny too.

    Hey, I’ll be your Facebook friend! I can’t find you, so search for a Lori in Qatar – I bet I’ll be the only one!

  4. October 20, 2008 6:47 am

    S is for smile…as in what you always make me do. 🙂

  5. Amanda McEwen permalink
    October 20, 2008 7:21 am

    You crack me up! You are by far the funniest (out of the millions)of friends I have !! HA!!

  6. October 20, 2008 11:27 am

    Q is for the Questions we are always asking of ourselves and others. When will we ever realize that we don’t have to have answers to our questions.

    As always another great post.

    Deanna

  7. October 20, 2008 11:37 am

    As usual, another great post.Hope your weekend went well.

  8. October 20, 2008 4:54 pm

    Y is for yes, i do like you too….
    F is for fantastic because that’s what you are….fantastically funny.
    C is for can’t wait to meet you someday!
    Love ya….laura

  9. October 20, 2008 6:41 pm

    Y- YOU are the one I totally copied from.
    I- I appreciate you letting me do that.
    B- Because I have no creativity of my own.
    A- And I really love you.
    H- However, I would smoosh you in Euchre without looking back.

  10. Joy F. permalink
    October 20, 2008 7:40 pm

    Q is for Q?

    Q is for quiet. Quiet- do you remember quiet?
    Q is for quick- once I was quick… now I am slow.
    Q is for quilting- the Pioneer women’s version of blogging.
    Q is for quirky- why you and I are such great friends
    Q is for quintessence- Jess, you are the quintessence of creativity!

  11. Taylor K. permalink
    October 22, 2008 11:15 am

    Hi Jess! I found you months ago while surfing bloggy carnivals…. and i love to stop by your blog from time to time, but i have been out on a leave from my job because i had surgery about 6 weeks ago so i am just going to spend my whole day (er…. breaks and lunch LOL) reading everything i missed. I don’t have a facebook account, i am a myspace type of gal myself. I would add you to my friends list. 🙂 I hope you have a great rest-of-the-week!

  12. Smilla permalink
    November 8, 2008 4:29 pm

    Jess,

    A is for Another history teacher (me) who has just spent four hours cramming up on one of those topics she sincerely hates (German politics from 1848 to 1871). I feel your pain, girl! (And I love your blog.)

    Smilla

Leave a Reply

