Skip to content

Ten Things

October 24, 2008

…Ten things that make me happy in the face of a really stupid mistake today in teaching. The kind of mistake where I called Joy crying and I don’t think she understood what I was saying because I was sobbing and shrieking so loudly.

I really, really want to crawl in a hole.

Since that is not an option for me (I am FREE from depression! Hello! No more crawling in holes for me), I am going to make a list of things that make me happy.

1. The cold rain outside my window. It is my favorite weather and I haven’t stopped today and breathed it in. Time to light a candle and listen to the sound of water hitting my cozy house.

2. Deciding to give into the temptation to see HSM3. Even if I have to go by myself.

3. Reading James 2 for our Bible study and thinking about all these great questions we can talk about next Wednesday.

4. Lucy crawling into bed with me this morning and covering my hand with kisses.

5. Ordering Cantina’s tonight for dinner (if you live in Charlotte, I highly recommend the Mexican chopped salad. Mmmmm.).

6. Filling up the front of my Lesson Plan Notebook with notes from my 8th grade History class. “The debates were sweet,” said one note, referring to our mock Presidential debates this week, “and now I like politics. You rock.” I rock. Woo hoo!

7. Hugging Hugh when he comes home from work and feeling his crunchy beard on my cheek.

8. Reading good fiction before I go to bed to help me go to sleep.

9. Asking my in-laws to come for Thanksgiving because I really want them here. I am no longer the young, immature bride who found fault with everything they did. Now I just love them.

10. Making myself a cheese omelet this morning. Covering it with salsa and Daisy sour cream.

Ha! I will not sink into the pit because I, gulp, made a dumb error. (NOTE TO SELF: DOUBLE-CHECK ALL EMAIL RECIPIENTS ON ALL EMAILS. EVERY SINGLE TIME. Sigh. HUGE Sigh.).

I will read my list and I will be o-kay.

(ETA: Edited to add): I just got an email from our good friends Scott and Sarah who have been trying to adopt a baby for a VERY long time. They were chosen to be birth parents and their little girl (born a few days ago) is coming home soon! Praise God!

Congratulations, Scott and Sarah! We love you!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. October 24, 2008 4:32 pm

    Ease up on yourself – we all make stupid mistakes. But, in fact, you DO rock!!

    Good for you for not letting this put you into a tailspin!

  2. Joy F. permalink
    October 24, 2008 4:59 pm

    I love your lists. I love people who think in lists. I love your ability to let God turn your day around. And I must agree- you do rock. If you can get kids to like politics in this election, when even I, who love politics, am disgusted with the whole thing right now, you are amazing!

    I also love this rainy day. Is there anything better? Well, maybe a snowy day. But a rainy day comes close!

  3. October 24, 2008 5:27 pm

    I love your lists. You inspire me!

  4. October 24, 2008 6:02 pm

    I love that you are not falling into a tailspin. It would be too easy to let everything get you down. You inspire me by not allowing life to get you down. I tend to too quickly fall into self-pity when I mess up and that is something I continually struggle with. But watching you put God’s word into action and not giving up that inspires me.

    Here is a quote that I sometimes use in my e-mail signature:

    “As a follower of Jesus Christ, you give up the option of giving up”–Robert H. Schuller

    Deanna

  5. October 24, 2008 9:27 pm

    Great post…I have to start doing this too and now, with winter approaching every day will bring a new list…

  6. taylor k. permalink
    October 25, 2008 9:01 pm

    hi, that was one awesome list! i do that from time to time too. I am bipolar, and when i get into long funks of bummed-out-ness i remind my self what i have to be thankful for, then i make a point of writing it down or saying it out loud. I live in Texas, and when hurricane Ike hit our gulf coast i didn’t have power for 5 1/2 days and we lost all of our food because of it. we had MINOR damage to our house, but i kept saying aloud to myself and all of my neighbors in the same situation “I/We have so much to be thankful for!” that always cheers me up. Sometimes i get specific like what you did in your list. I’ll say I am so thankful for Sammy (my son) he is so sweet EVEN when he pulls my hair and knocks off my glasses and screams at the top of his little lungs at the end of an already stressful day. LOL

    Anywho, thanks for the list and i hope you had a great time at HSM3!

    🙂

Leave a Reply

