Skip to content

Weekend Words

November 21, 2008

1.  Paula – I am making Paula Deen’s mac and cheese for Thanksgiving AND I have been watching Paula Deen’s show on Food Network to inspire me to start cooking.  I LOVE her…

2.  Trainer – Why do personal trainers cost so dang much? And, seriously, will I EVEN do this?  Could I really develop any kind of relationship with a person who…after calculating my BMI…told me my adjusted health age was forty-one??? Forty-one.  And I am thirty-one. I am in a VERY. BAD. MOOD.

3.  BMI – I think BMI should stand for Buy Myself Ice cream.

4.  Gram – My grandmother (who lives next door and no longer drives) was feeling very upset today because she can no longer drive to Mass.  Guess who gets her anger? Sigh.  Taking care of my grandmother is bittersweet…Some days are wonderful.  Other days are tough.

5.  Firebirds! – The name of the restaurant that my man and I are eating out at tonight (thanks to a gift card from my wonderful friend Becky.  Woo hoo!).  I will be eating approximately 10,000 calories at dinner and increasing my BMI tonight.

6.  Questions – When a student that HATES to read brings a book to school that I can’t even have in my home (because I think it is very dark), how do I talk to that student without discouraging budding literacy? Do I say nothing? When do I say my opinion as a teacher?  When am I silent?  Teaching Middle School is TOUGH.

7.  100 – That is the amount of money I have to spend on Hugh for Christmas.  One hundred dollars.  Because of THE BUDGET.  What can I get Hugh for one hundred dollars?  Maybe a session with a personal trainer?

WHAT ARE YOUR WORDS FOR THE WEEKEND??????????????????????????????????????????????????

(Um, if people don’t answer, I will make up fake identities and post comments as those identities. Example: Blog – Jess, your blog is the best!  Whatever – who cares about stupid BMI!  Twenty – Jess, I’ll send you twenty bucks to add to your Christmas budget for Hugh!”.)

Have a glorious weekend eating lots of ice cream!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. November 21, 2008 4:35 pm

    Real–I am a real person, not a fake identity. 😉

    Alton Brown–my personal Food Network hero, as opposed to dear Paula. Seriously, the man rocks!

    Budget–my Christmas budget is less than yours. :-p However, it’s much increased from last year’s budget, so I’m okay with it.

    Snow–we had some today. It actually covered the ground very briefly.

    Envelopes–I need to buy some. Stamps too actually.

    Wondering–how many words do I need to come up with before I can legitimately quit? 😉

  2. November 21, 2008 4:48 pm

    1. Firebirds – cause me & my man are eating there TOMORROW night! I’m thinking about having a mistle toe martini…can I say that on a Christian blog?

    2. 40 – hey, I’m 40 so don’t knock it if you haven’t tried it. I happen to think I look just great. Of course I’m not 31. 🙂

    3. Thanksgiving – I’m hostessing and I don’t like it. I don’t like to cook.

    4. Blog – Jess, your blog is the best. LOL.

    5. Smiling – cause seriously, you do make me smile. Happy Weekend!

  3. November 21, 2008 6:06 pm

    Blog- if yours isn’t the best, it’s definitely in the top 3!

    whatever- whatever your bmi is, it’s just a number, not a judgment. I’ll bet your husband thinks you’re beautiful.

    Guy Fieri- Because Diners, Drive-ins, and Dives completely rocks the Food Network.

    Xbox- because if your budget is $100, Hugh’s not getting one for Christmas. 😛

    Budget- mine sucks. worse than yours. worse than last year.

    Rescue- God is rescuing my family from financial woes even as we speak. Satan does not have any dominion over my bank account!

    Pregnant- because i hope my 14 year old sister isn’t, but she might be. because i hope i’m not, but i might be (and better me than her).

    Wall-e- because my excellent mom-in-law bought it for me (under the guise of giving it to Sean), and i get to watch it tonight after….

    dinner- St. Paula inspire me! I have to stop responding to this blog and go cook for my family.

  4. sumijoti permalink
    November 21, 2008 6:45 pm

    Budget- What budget? (So far there’s nothing to play with but somehow we make it every year – at the last minute!)

    Feet- I’ve been on mine all day and they are hot and tired. I’m sitting now but in 45 minutes we will be at church, where I will be standing and singing in the worship team for the next hour or two.

    Food- I’m trying to save on how much we spend on convenience foods. I’ve been bulk cooking today.

    Nails- I need to groom them – badly!

    Thanksgiving- first one without Jenna 😦

    Laundry- a mountain high.

    mac ‘n cheese- love it!

    Happy- because I can choose random words and write about them.

    Lazy- but gotta drag my sorry self off here and go get ready. Sigh…

  5. November 21, 2008 7:07 pm

    First, RE: #6… what book? I’m a huge fan of encouraging the reading of “controversial” books because it encourages thoughts, opinions, arguments, etc. I think the best way to support your student would be to let your student know that you have mixed feelings about the book. Tell that student that you’d love to hear his/her thoughts on the book and know what was engaging about the writing style. Perhaps if you can pinpoint WHY that book is engaging you can spot other books with similar writing styles for your student.

    As far as weekend words…

    Work – Because I have to go tomorrow.
    Team – Because I get to see my teammates this weekend after MUCH too long.
    Sing – Because we’re karaoking like nobody’s business on Saturday night.
    Thanks – Because we’ll give thanks at our post-Mass Young Adult Monthly Social on Sunday.

  6. November 21, 2008 9:47 pm

    Hey this is kinda fun–

    Dread- spending tomorrow scouring my sister’s boyfriends apartment, my sister needs help… but can’t I fake an illness?

    Umm… that’s about all I’m thinking about right now. The dread is THAT immense.

    I absolutely would NOT know what to do in your situation about the book. I get what Bleachusd is saying, but I wonder what age group this is for? I wonder if the parents approve of the book or maybe they have never actually pre-read it so they are going on book reviews or something. I’m sure it couldn’t hurt to approach it that way, maybe ask the child if their parent’s have read it or something, I don’t know– I have NO idea!!! But I know I will be pre-screening what my children put into their little brains as much as possible. I’m so curious about what book it is!!!

    Have a great weekend!
    -Meg

  7. November 22, 2008 12:59 am

    Thinkgeek – because there is no better place to buy man presents

    Rockband – Because we broke down and bought it and stayed up until the wee hours of the morning playing

    Sleep – because that’s what I ought to be doing

  8. Joy F. permalink
    November 22, 2008 8:03 am

    Top Chef- because somehow watching a professional chef cook something awful and have to “pack up their knives and go” makes me feel better about my poor cooking abilities

    Seven- as in I am still seven years older than you in “health age”- which makes me almost 50!

    Pies- I can’t wait to bake pies!!!

    Ridiculous- as in how silly it is for us to start a diet and exercise program the WEEK BEFORE THANKSGIVING. What am I thinking???

    Oreos- I was doing great on my calories yesterday until the double-stuff oreos (with red icing) called out to me.

    iMovie- I can’t wait to make an iMovie today- hope I can get it done before hubby comes back from business trip

    Gingerbread- kids have kits to put together today. Two years ago I baked the gingerbread from scratch, bought our own candy, etc. Now I am a teacher and we bought kits.

    Guest room- it took several hours but our guest room is finally clean! It unfortunately serves as the dumping ground for toys to be put away, musical instruments that have no home, and boxes and boxes of books!

    Christmas- I wonder if I will be able to develop our own traditions this year, since we are not traveling north.

    Quiet time- I need one today. I don’t want my gym experience to shove out my times with God, which have been really meaningful lately. God is so good. I want to be desperate for him, even more desperate than I am to drop two dress sizes.

  9. November 22, 2008 8:30 am

    Rushing- That’s what I’ll be doing today as I go to the store to get last minute items for my husband’s birthday party, and the harvest party at my son’s school next week.

    Kraftfoods.com-My favorite cooking spot. The recipes are practical and easy. Also they have healthy living variations that are yummy yet lower in calories and fat.

    twittering- I am so addicted I usually check mine two or three times a day and I also post that much too. Pray for me. 🙂

    Party!-I’ll be getting down and boogying to music from the 70’s as I celebrate my husband’s 30th birthday

    Candyland-promised the kids that after church tomorrow that we would play Candyland and have family night.

    Laundry- cuz I can’t find my favorite graphic tee

    Fallout-This season is sooo busy for us that when I am done with 70’s parties, thanskgiving basket giveaways, harvest parties, laundry and family night. I think I’ll put on my favorite PJ’s and fall out.

    Have a great one!

  10. November 22, 2008 12:19 pm

    You could get Hugh a membership to the “Fruit of the Month” club.

  11. November 22, 2008 12:53 pm

    Budget – because we have spent too much money this month instead of saving, and Christmas is coming up and a two week vacation in Mexico….yikers

    Tired – my sweet husband had a card game at our house last night and didn’t crawl into bed until 1:30 (we’re usually in bed by 10 – we are very boring!)

    Decorating – because I want to finish our bathroom and laundry room…but again, that darn budget…

    Exercise – oh how I need to go for a run today. I wonder if taking a nap could take it’s place???

  12. Smilla permalink
    November 22, 2008 2:32 pm

    Work – still working for school – at 8:30 pm on a Saturday evening. What happened to my adventurous youth?

    Rindsrouladen – Name of the stuffed escalopes I’m going to cook for tomorrow’s Sunday dinner; the only decent bit of meat my family gets all week. You don’t want to be a vegetarian with a family that isn’t vegetarian.

    Love – my partner has just spent endless, torturing hours tutoring my son. If that isn’t love, what is?

    Blog fast – must….go….on….blog….fast…soon! Argh! The temptation to read Jess’s blog is just too strong! I can’t resist! Nooooooo….

  13. November 23, 2008 5:03 pm

    Church– because we didn’t go today– for shame, for shame

    Menu– because I planned our Thanksgiving menu today and made a grocery list

    Noggin– because I love that my three year old is occupied right now cause it’s too cold to play outside for very long and she didn’t have a nap today

    Writing– what I should be doing right now

    Cleaning– something else I should be doing right now

    LOVED your more and less post– wish I saw you more, not less!

  14. November 23, 2008 11:02 pm

    1. exhausted. how i felt all weekend
    2. coffee. what i am currently drinking to help me forget my #1 word for at least 5 min.
    3. Pack. what I still have to do for five poeple tonight before i can go to bed.
    4. Exhausted. AGAIN, I know. but packing for 5 people at 11pm makes me feel that way.
    5. love. i love my new church and you will love yours too. God is good like that. 🙂

  15. tonyyork permalink
    November 24, 2008 4:03 pm

    OK.. since I am, what appears, to be one of the few guys that comment on this blog, I will weigh in on the Christmas budget. I think its awesome that you set a limit. Though I would probably tell my wife to spend less than the $100. (She calls me a scrooge).

    A gift card to a book store would be one of my perfect gifts. I don’t know your husband but most men I know are very simple when it comes to gifts. Find their passion and gift to that.

Leave a Reply

