Skip to content

Fragments of Reflection from an Exhausted Woman

November 25, 2008

….Oh, man. It’s a special assembly at school this morning about dads.  I can’t believe I forgot to email a picture of Hugh with the kids for the “Our Dads” slide show. What is wrong with me? Geez…Jon-David and Hannajean are going to be so disappointed. (crying) I wish I could get it together a little bit more with the details.  (wiping my nose) Well, I guess the important thing is that my children HAVE a dad – a really wonderful father who will be waiting for them when they get home from school.  It’s okay, I guess. It’s okay.

…I can’t believe how crowded Fresh Market is today.  It’s only Tuesday!  I am so glad I am picking up the turkey today. I hope I can actually cook this thing. Why the heck did I decide to cook a real turkey this year instead of getting a pre-cooked turkey from Honey Baked Ham? Oh my gosh. I can’t do this. I hate turkey. I hate everything except sleep and Jesus.

“…Hugh? Hugh? HUGH!!!  Can you come downstairs for a second? What? No, I am not crying. Okay, I AM crying…I just can’t lift the turkey, Hugh.  Hugh? I can’t lift this stupid turkey into the fridge. Why am I so weak? I am just so tired….Hugh? Okay, I’ll go lie down.”

…I wonder if I can justify spending four dollars for a Movie on Demand tonight.  I think so.  What should I watch? Something mindless and funny. (thirty minutes later after watching twelve different movie previews) I can’t believe I can’t decide what to watch.  It’s so stressful to pick out a movie – I’ll just watch Food Network again.

“…Hey, Jon-David? What time is it? 6:45?” Hm, I wonder if I can put my kids to bed this early and just lie on my bed staring at the ceiling while trying not to think about how much laundry I am not doing.  How long does a load stay in the washer before it starts to smell nasty?

“…Hannajean, please keep the hermit crabs in their cage.  I know you’re excited that we get to babysit the class crabs over Thanksgiving break, but I don’t want anything to happen to them, kay?  Honey, are you listening? Put. Down. The. Crabs.”

7 Comments leave one →
  1. November 26, 2008 12:01 am

    your randomness is so fun to read. mine would get me committed, i’m afraid. *sigh*

  2. November 26, 2008 9:09 am

    “how long can laundry sit in the washer until smells nasty”

    2-3 days. Less if it’s hot outside, like summer time. hehehe. I’ve been there!!!

    Love your blog. Makes me smile. I root for you all the time!

  3. sumijoti permalink
    November 26, 2008 10:43 am

    Can’t post my random thoughts either. Someone might get worried about me. 🙂

    I hope you can take a good Thanksgiving break…I’m going to have to do prep for school. (yay and ugh at the same time)

  4. Tasha permalink
    November 26, 2008 12:15 pm

    Thank God I’m not the only one that leaves clothes in the washer… or tells my kids not to do something over and over… or forgets stuff for school!!

    =) I just love love love your honesty!

  5. November 26, 2008 4:59 pm

    Hang in there. We’re all there with you.

  6. November 26, 2008 11:06 pm

    if there are towels in that load, then you should switch them over to the dryer before you fall asleep watching that on demand movie…if no towels, you should be good until morning.

  7. November 27, 2008 8:11 am

    Jess, best line in this post:
    I hate everything except sleep and Jesus.

    You made me laugh.

    Now must go deal with my turkey.

Leave a Reply

