Skip to content

A History Channel Thanksgiving

November 27, 2008

This morning, my house smells faintly of the homemade cranberry sauce I made last night. Each time I open the fridge, I get a whiff of the fresh herb rub that is currently covering the huge turkey that my grandmother bought for our meal today. The house, after hours and hours of work, is finally clean.

The two tables – one for the seven children, one for the eight adults – are set, complete with fresh flowers from our local specialty market.

It’s Thanksgiving. Finally.

Yesterday I was in a horrible mood all day, yelling at Hugh and the children while we scrambled around trying to complete my “to-do” list. There were times when I questioned if I really was a Christian. I mean, shouldn’t I be able to have some small iota of self-control and not verbally attack every member of my family?

Near the end of the day, I locked myself in my bedroom and told my family to leave me alone. Not surprisingly, they were happy to get away from me. I sat on my bed and cried. I told God I was really sorry for being such a mess. Then I watched the History Channel for a while and didn’t talk to anyone for over an hour.

After my alone time, I emerged from the room like a new woman. I happily made the breakfast casserole for our pre-Thanksgiving meal. Then I sat down with my children and made little Oreo Turkey cookies, making jokes about how long it was taking me to make each one.

So my big holiday lesson is this: when I feel like an emotional train wreck, I need to stop and take a break (and maybe watch the History Channel). If I chill out and don’t talk to anyone, I’ll feel better. And if I can let God work in my heart while I get some space, I can focus on what’s really important.

Lord, thank You for forgiving me when I am unkind to everyone that I love. I’m so glad that Your mercies are new EVERY morning. Thank You for time with my family and time by myself. Thank You most of all for Your wonderful presence. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 27, 2008 4:09 pm

    Glad to hear I belong in the normal crowd….the ones who stress before they have company 😉

Leave a Reply

