Skip to content

Come Away

December 6, 2008

Behold, he stands behind our wall;
He is looking through the windows,
Gazing through the lattice.
My beloved spoke, and said to me:
“Rise up, my love, my fair one,
And come away.”

Song of Solomon 2, NKJV

Busy, busy, busy. B-U-S-Y. I feel like I barely have time to pray – let alone spend quality time with my husband.

Last week Hugh and I lay on our bed enveloped by our blue Target comforter as I told him my thoughts. “You know, we aren’t really enjoying each other that much lately. I’m working and you’ve been so busy with work. It seems like our relationship has become so functional.”

He touched my hair, then said, “I think you’re right. I feel like we have so much to do – both of us…all the time. We don’t spend any time just being together.”

We were both silent. I thought about the last few months of my marriage. The majority of the time that I spend with Hugh is practical and functional. Ten minutes to quickly discuss the budget, five minutes to tell him about Gram’s health insurance problem, a few minutes of rushed conversation to tell him that we really do need coats for the kids this year because it is so cold…

When do I make time to romance my man? How often do I look forward to simply hanging out with him instead of looking forward to our time together so that we can get some things crossed off of our lists?

A few years ago, Hugh and I went through a rough season of miscommunication and conflict. We began fighting frequently and the distance between us grew. It took a lot of hard work from both of us to reclaim our passion and love – to once again have a healthy and thriving relationship.

But lately I have begun to take him for granted and not make time to nurture our relationship – and this is the first step down that road of distance and apathy. I have forgotten that, in spite of all the things I have to do each day, there is no human relationship more important than my husband.

I have to make concrete choices to put aside my own agenda and spend time simply being with him, regardless of how much is on my “to-do list”.

He is worth it. Our marriage is worth it. I will make time to lie on our blue blanket with him, laughing and sharing my heart with him, each day falling in love again.

One Comment leave one →
  1. December 9, 2008 7:26 pm

    Thank you for this post (and many others) this has hit home.

    I find it so easy to just know that my husband is my best friend and that he’ll always be there, just like laundry and dishes and dirty floors.

    He means so much more to me than those things, for sure, but I find that sometimes I treat him like those chores. Check him off my “to do” list!

    I know I need to change this. I know.

    Doing it is another deal altogether.

Leave a Reply

