Skip to content

When I am not so tired that I want to pass out…

December 17, 2008

1.   I’ll write a long post about the conclusion of “Harley’s Saga” – complete with details involving our two-hour meeting with the rescue group (words mentioned during the meeting: arrested, brick, and potty). No wonder I’m tired.

2.  I’ll finish wrapping the presents that I’ve purchased for my students.  I’ve only wrapped half of the gifts and our class Christmas party is in twelve hours.  I don’t think I can wrap one more gift.  Looking at the wrapping paper makes me want to cry.

3.  I’ll hold my kids and smell their hair and talk to them about Christmas.  I will savor these precious days when they are young and counting down the days until Christmas morning instead of dragging through another exhausted 24 hours.

4.  I’ll shave my legs.  It’s probably not funny that this is a recurring joke on my blog.  It’s not funny in real-life either when Hugh goes to touch me and I shriek and tell him, “I am a hairy beast – leave me alone!”.

5.  I’ll pray without falling asleep.  I’ll get direction from God about all the things that are piling up in my heart.  Ugh.  Things like…”God, why don’t I have friends at church? What is WRONG with me?” and “Am I being too harsh with some of my students?”

6.  I’ll eat breakfast and lunch before 2:00 in the afternoon because I won’t be so tired that I have forgotten all about eating.

7.  I’ll go to the gym.  The trainers will greet me with happy faces and say, “Oh, Jess – you can do this! Lots of people start and stop and start and stop…and start.”

8.  I’ll clean out my purse.  It’s full of trash from the candy I used to bribe my kids during The Nutcracker this weekend.  I can’t believe I bribed my children with candy.  There are about ten million things wrong with doing that to my kids.  Geez.

9.  I’ll respond to all emails.  I’ll say “yes” instead of “no” to things that will continue to make me busy and stressed.  I’ll write back pithy emails to people I don’t know well.  I’ll sound smart and funny (maybe).

10.  I’ll sit on the couch and drink coffee while talking to my husband.  Now THAT is one of my favorite things in the whole world.

I. NEED.  SLEEP.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2008 1:48 am

    Sleep is good… and not at all over-rated.

    But as for praying and falling asleep? I once had a very wise friend tell me that if you fall asleep in prayer it is the deepest form of prayer… because you are resting in God and allowing God to rest in you. Sure, we probably shouldn’t fall asleep every time, but it’s okay to fall asleep while praying. More than okay even…

  2. December 18, 2008 8:26 am

    There’s nothing wrong with occasional bribery. A few hours of quiet candy consumption will not rot out their teeth, ruin their appetites, or make you a bad mother in any way. Think of it as negotiating…good behavior in extraordinary circumstances in exchange for treats.

    Remember, He gently leads those with young. 🙂

  3. December 18, 2008 8:54 am

    Ah, sweet repose. I hope you find it, my new friend. Let grace cover all the unfinished agenda items and find yourself blissfully aware of His love.

  4. Tony York permalink
    December 19, 2008 2:39 pm

    I am waiting with baited-breath for the answer of what happened to Harley.

    Get some rest… funny coming from me… I am in the same boat.

  5. December 19, 2008 4:35 pm

    Thanks so much for coming by today…and indeed, you did sound smart and funny in your comment. 🙂

    Still pondering arrested, potty, and brick. hmmmm….if you get arrested, perhaps you can get more rest. Do they let you request your own private cell and daily Starbucks in prison? Worth looking into. hee hee

    Hope you do get some rest…at home…I was seriously just kidding about getting arrested. 🙂

  6. Becky permalink
    December 19, 2008 5:45 pm

    YEAH! YEAH! Must have been my reference 🙂 Are you serious..in the bathroom WITH the fan on 🙂 I will have to bring my rescue puppy over to be friends with Harley 🙂 They should have a lot to talk about! 🙂 YEAH!

Leave a Reply

