Skip to content

New Year’s Resolutions

January 2, 2009

1.  Stop being anxious about everything.

2.  Read the Bible.

3.  Find a church.

4.  Stop swearing when I become angry.  I mean, seriously.  I should be slightly more mature in Christ by this point.

5.  Lose at least half of my body weight with sporadic gym attendance.

6.  Try to be a focused Bible Study leader.  Stop sending out emails like, “So, guys, what do YOU think we should study next in the Bible?”.  Try and show confidence and leadership.

7.  Clean house more.

8.  Cook dinner more.

9.  When people get angry with me, don’t freak out.  Say things like, “I don’t care what you think.  I am really funny and creative and you don’t define me.” Say this while looking really powerful.  Maybe with my eyes all squinty.

10.  Cancel digital cable.  No more watching Dog Whisperer when I should be cooking, cleaning, and going to the gym.  No more relaxing!  This is a new year!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. January 2, 2009 9:18 am

    #5 – if you figure this out, let me know how. I’m in! LOL!

  2. taylor k permalink
    January 2, 2009 9:25 am

    #10 – i did this about 6 months ago, at first it was really hard… but now i don’t even miss it. the shows i really love to watch i can find online and i spend one night a week watching them. I clean and cook a little bit more now too, but i still need to clean ALOT more offten.

    My new years resolution is to not consider myself agnostic by the end of the year. I want to find a home church and choose a denomination instead of just saying “i beleive in god, but i really don’t know much else about what i beleive”

    good luck girl, and thanks for joining me on twitter! 🙂

  3. sumijoti permalink
    January 2, 2009 1:49 pm

    Heehee! I could go with your whole list except #3. We are so happy to have a great church family. Yes, I am embarrassed to admit that even #4 could apply to me too.

    #11 – Stop wasting time. Seriously.

  4. January 2, 2009 3:06 pm

    Oh Jess, 🙂

    I’m going to do to you now what my friend that I asked to hold me accountable did for me. Brace Yourself. 🙂 How do you ever plan on accomplishing these goals? What can you do to make them more measurable and attainable, and who can you find to hold you accountable to actually make sure you follow through. 🙂 Ok, Now I’m done. I just don’t think like that. Seriously though, I think that they are great goals.

    I’m beginning to wonder about my own goals. I made good ones but now having to figure out a plan as to how to implement them and make them measurable is making me wonder why I ever wanted anyone to hold me accountable. Accountability is great, but oh goodness, it’s going to, it’s already making things more complicated. However hopefully it will lead to breakthroughs in the end. I’m hoping that you have a great year full of breakthroughs and accomplishments.

    I also want to thank you for inspiring me to start a prayer journal last year. It went rather well and while changing some things around I am going to try to do one this year as well. Sadly however some of my best prayers never seem to get written down that I manage to pray in my head at the time of need for my friends and others. But then I guess that is all part of praying continually. 🙂

  5. Amanda McEwen permalink
    January 4, 2009 10:07 am

    hmmmmmmm. Someone who can help you with follow through. Now who could that be?

    ((((((((((((((((((((hugs)))))))))))))))))))))))))

    (is that how they do it?)

  6. Elizabeth permalink
    January 4, 2009 11:00 pm

    I like #5, hee-hee. I have the sporadic attendance part down pat.

    Good luck on your goals!

Leave a Reply

