Skip to content

Creative Juices

January 13, 2009

Well, I am excited. I got an email from my…wait for it…BLOG DESIGNER!!!! And the new blog design is under way!!

So.

It got me thinking that maybe I need a new blog name. I have had this blog name for a while – it’s time to CHANGE. IT. UP.

Here are my ideas so far:

1. Moaning into Dancing (I’ve been complaining recently…this title might be the swift kick I need)

2. Jess (What if my blog name was just my name? Wouldn’t that be weird?)

3. Journeys of a Church Hopper (This is funny for two reasons. One: we’re looking for a church. Two: our last name is Hopper.)

4. Joyful Jess: Tips to Cleaning your House and Cooking Dinner in Five Minutes a Day (I think I could post a lot of my housekeeping ideas. Like… shove everything in the closet and ignore it…or buy rotisserie chicken and yeast rolls at Harris Teeter every other night and call it “dinner”)

5. Harley and Me (I could blog about our new dog all the time… then maybe compile the posts into a touching pet memoir that will become a bestseller. And movie.)

6. If You Want to Get Close to God, Get Your Little Boo-Tay out of Bed Early and Read the Bible (A simple blog with a simple message. Destined to have millions of readers.)

I am open to more suggestions.

Obviously.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. January 13, 2009 10:33 pm

    I don’t know…I am personally lovin’ #3 and #6. You are too funny.

  2. January 14, 2009 12:28 am

    This is hard…..i usually come to yer blog for inspiration and laughter…so the title should kinda fit somewhere in between? is that helpful now…

  3. January 14, 2009 1:11 am

    I like #3… but I also like the current title.

  4. Elizabeth permalink
    January 14, 2009 2:43 am

    I am liking #3. Or you could call it Memoirs of a Church Hopper – that also seems suited for compiling into a touching book someday, that will become a bestseller of course. 🙂

    Also .. I love the Oregon coast. If I could live there, I would. Thumbs up to your vacation choice.

  5. January 14, 2009 7:41 am

    Haha! I love them all…though I think your current blog name is fabulous!

  6. January 14, 2009 10:52 am

    Loving #6 cause I could benefit from the reminder… hehehe 🙂

  7. January 14, 2009 11:32 am

    I think Jess Meets Jesus would be good … I find that He’s always here!

  8. taylor k permalink
    January 14, 2009 1:58 pm

    i like 1 and 3.

    i LOVE your blog, Jess…. and i’ll still stop by everyday no matter what its called.

    i have my blog up and running now too. Its http://www.chasingconviction.com i am a new blogger so please excuse anything that isn’t just-right yet. I do hope you’ll stop by and comment, even if you might not agree with whatever it is i am blogging about on that day.

    have a great day girl!

  9. January 14, 2009 3:15 pm

    Perhaps Jess in the Refiner’s Fire or Growing into Christlikeness; What that looks like in everyday life. Just a few more ideas. I’m sure whatever you choose will be great. Can’t wait to see the new look. {{{Hugs}}}

  10. January 14, 2009 4:10 pm

    Why not ‘Jess loves Jesus”? When I went to the Proverbs 31 She Speaks COnference, they were all about your blog title and URL matching, so for ease of finding you. I think if you name your blog too specifically (Like dinner ideas), then you blog about your bad day at work, your millions of readers may be let down as to where their recipe of the day is. So better to be generic so you can blog about anything. Good luck. Can’t wait for the new look.

  11. January 14, 2009 4:34 pm

    Well, I am pretty fond of the current name. I love # 6 though; it made me smile. And I like previous poster’s idea of just calling it Jess Loves Jesus. 🙂

    But then, what do I know about creative titles? 😉

  12. January 14, 2009 8:06 pm

    I definitely vote for #6. And we could just call you boo-tay for short.

  13. January 15, 2009 8:02 am

    I don’t know…#6 is bound to distress people that just can’t get it together first thing in the morning. Maybe “If You Want to Get Close to God, Get Your Little Boo-Tay out of Bed Early and Read the Bible (but He’ll talk to you at night, too).”
    I still really like the current title, but I also agree with Kelly & Karen about just making it simply, “Jess Loves Jesus.”

  14. peaceliving permalink
    January 15, 2009 3:46 pm

    Well, I’ve just found your blog today and already think the design is beautiful. Can’t wait to see what the new blog looks like and to look around here for a while longer.

  15. Dawna permalink
    January 16, 2009 3:07 pm

    I was told about your blog a while ago, and the title really caught me where I was at. Like the current one, but I am sure whatever you choose will be good.

Leave a Reply

