Skip to content

Never Say Never

January 15, 2009

I never thought I’d:

1.  Let my son read Captain Underpants.  I am all about great literature (except The Princess Diaries) but Jon-David has been sick this week and I figured he needed something to do other than watch another hour of televion.

2.  Blame my children for things.  Tonight as Lucy was throwing a new roll of toilet paper into Harley’s crate, I told her, “Lucy, because you keep wasting toilet paper, we don’t have as much money for things like birthday cakes and food.”

When did I become such a crazy liar?  She ignored me and kept shoveling toilet paper in the crate. 

Jess= Mother of the Year.

3.  Go to a traditional church this Sunday and sort of like it.  “We are going to the main service first and then Sunday school,” we told our kids as they piled in the van.

“What’s Sunday School?” Jon-David asked.

4.  Ignore someone who “friend requested” me on Facebook.  Someone I know from college “friend requested” me on Facebook.  But she actually didn’t like me at all in school.  So I clicked “ignore” and it felt GREAT.  Then I felt bad.  For like four seconds.

5.  Cook dinner fairly consistently for almost three weeks in a row! Growth! Hallelujah!

6.  Hear someone tell me a sad story about something one of my parents is currently doing and NOT GET DEPRESSED OR UPSET.  Freedom feels sweet.  I don’t always walk it out perfectly, but this week showed me that I am not where I used to be!

7.  Let my van become one of those “nasty vans”.  I used to judge women who had terrible, old fries-and- socks filled vans.  No more.  We are all doing the best that we can.

8.  Weigh more than Hugh.  I wish he’d gain some weight and not be so thin.  Isn’t that so horrible?  I mean, he was this pudgy kid and now he is super-fit and I am super-insecure.

9.  Hear people at my school talk to me about reading my blog.  Hm.  (Maybe I’ll start doing fake posts about how I actually never struggle with anything.  That would be boring, though.  And, actually, MORE LYING.  STOP LYING, JESS!)

10.  Write two “lists” posts in a row.  Well, the other post rummaging around my head describes the stress of everyone in my family puking repeatedly all over my house the last few days.  I want to pretend like the last few days haven’t happened…that I haven’t washed twenty-seven loads of laundry or bleached down every room in my house….

O-kay, off to pray about this lying.  And insecurity. And parenting guilt.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Erin H permalink
    January 16, 2009 12:14 am

    11. Go this long without seeing Erin in her pajama pants.

    Did #11 not make the final draft?

  2. Amanda McEwen permalink
    January 16, 2009 2:46 pm

    I never thought I would say this but…..
    Your blog is da rizzel…FO’ SHIZZEL!!!!!

  3. January 16, 2009 4:42 pm

    #4 made me laugh, since someone from our old home team (from our old church), who we barely knew at all, who we haven’t talked to in over two years, friend requested me on facebook. I ignored because all I could think is “I don’t really know you”. I felt a little bad too…

    #5 made me want to stick my tongue out at you because I’m jealous because I want to say that I’ve done that. I haven’t. 🙂

  4. January 16, 2009 5:00 pm

    Facebook is strange. People want to be your faux friends. But not so much in real life. Craziness.

    Loving the blog Jess, and that is no lie.

  5. peaceliving permalink
    January 17, 2009 10:34 am

    What a great list. I would add to the messy van that I never thought I’d let my kids go out in public with disgusting faces (from a cold, a messy breakfast that didn’t quite get washed off completely, whatever…) yet I do. Also I have a list of things I thought I’d never say including things like: Be careful, don’t walk downstairs with a bucket on your head.

  6. January 20, 2009 12:51 pm

    I love your list posts Jess. Hugs to you.

Leave a Reply

