Skip to content

Yesterday

January 21, 2009

Yesterday I sat in a chair for over two hours watching the snow fall quietly out my window

Yesterday I held my Bible in the chair while watching the snow and I read and read and read

Yesterday I lit a candle and I moved my yellow roses from Hugh off the dining table in front of the window so I could drink in the smell as I prayed

Yesterday my kids got themselves ready to play in the snow – they looked so precious – so perfectly eight, six, and four – that my chest got tight as Hugh lined them up for a picture

Yesterday I watched almost five hours of news and I cried when Rick Warren prayed and I cried when Elizabeth Alexander spoke of edifices and I cried when our new President put his hand on Lincoln’s Bible

Yesterday Hugh and I spent time mapping out our route down Highway 101 on the Oregon coast for our upcoming trip

Yesterday I made chili and a pie

Yesterday I didn’t make my bed – I only washed a few dishes

A snow day

Perfect

9 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2009 8:51 am

    That was a beautiful entry!!!!! Made me want to curl up on God’s lap and do the same today…but alas it is not snowing today….thanks for inspiring..

  2. January 21, 2009 9:36 am

    Sounds like a wonderful day, indeed!

    My husband and I took our vacation a coupla years ago down 101. So beautiful. Oh my word, loved it. Enjoy!

  3. January 21, 2009 11:10 am

    So glad you had such a wonderful day!

  4. Patty permalink
    January 21, 2009 11:35 am

    Sounds like a great day Jess!! And yeah!! You’re coming to my home state? You’ll love the Oregon coast, if you haven’t been before.

  5. January 21, 2009 2:17 pm

    That sounds so lovely!!

  6. January 21, 2009 8:37 pm

    Perfect, indeed.

  7. January 21, 2009 10:20 pm

    Sounds like a great cozy day! We don’t have any snow here — just very cold! We had a wonderful chicken/rice/lentils soup yesterday. Wish we had a little bit of snow — more than the few flurries.

  8. Stephanie Renner permalink
    January 23, 2009 7:36 am

    awe sounds fun. Are you just going on the coast of Oregon or are you going into CA at all? I grew up there and it is breathtaking I hope that you all have a fabulous time. Loves!!!

  9. Joy F. permalink
    January 23, 2009 9:00 am

    On our unexpected snow day…
    I marveled at how perfect everything looked- how the dull dead ground can look positively radiant dressed in white- like how our redeemed hearts must look once Jesus gives us his record for ours

    I thanked God for a day off after a very stress-filled weekend

    I baked no-bake cookies (forgive the oxymoron) and scratch-made cinnamon rolls that tasted exactly like Cinnabon

    I went sledding with my son

    I took lots of pictures of my kids and my neighbor’s kids

    I made my children hot chocolate with lots of mini marshmallows

    I took a long nap

    It was an absolutely perfect day in every way.

Leave a Reply

