Skip to content

Words to Start the Week

January 26, 2009

1.  Tired – Because I worked too much this weekend on a big project for school.  Books and papers are all over my floor.  I am exhilarated with the challenge of what I have to do and also…sleepy.

2.  Empty – My fridge.  Oops.  My kids don’t actually need food, right?

3.  Guilt – Jon-David’s Pioneer House Diorama (DIE-o-RA-ma) is due tomorrow.  Guess which family hasn’t started on the diorama?  Guess who apparently knows NOTHING about pioneer homes?*

4.  iTunes – Hannajean found a twenty-five dollar gift card to iTunes buried in my desk this weekend.  I had completely forgotten about it.  Woo hoo! Bought me some Laura Story, yes I did.

5.  Awake – Hugh was awake (!) when I came out of my prayer closet at 6am this morning.  “Jess, why are you up so early?”  He said, one arm propped up on the bed.

After I had recovered from the shock of seeing my husband awake before 7am, I replied: “Babe, I’m always up this early. You just are never up to see me.”

6.  Folgers – There are many levels of spiritual breakthrough.  I have successfully completely four months of drinking Folgers coffee each morning instead of Starbucks to cut down our grocery bill!  Hallelujah!  I am saved!

7.  Valerie – Yesterday we visited a new church AND checked out a…wait for it…Sunday School class.  I’ve never met Valerie but she commented on my blog about her Sunday School class and so we TOTALLY went.  How nice was it to walk into a strange place and have someone run over and make you feel incredibly welcome? So nice.  How much did I love the Sunday School class?  Tons. THANK YOU, VALERIE.  YOU ARE HELPING ME TO NOT BACKSLIDE OR START A CULT!

8.  Stinky – Why can’t I ever remember to change over loads of laundry?  What is wrong with my brain?

9.  The West Wing – Watching last week’s Inauguration has inspired Hugh and me to start watching The West Wing again.  Love, love, love.

10.  Hair – I can stick my tongue out and feel the hair on my upper lip.  I need a good wax.  Ew.

What are your words to start the week???? 🙂

*Jon-David

11 Comments leave one →
  1. January 26, 2009 7:55 am

    My words to start the week-

    vinegar- a 1/2 cup of white vinegar poured into your laundry and then run through the rinse cycle again will get that smell right out.

    house- i ♥ mondays because house is on.

    family- because i spend so much of my thoughts and prayers on them right now.

    housework- must do it. no excuses.

    facebook- because i AM going to go check it before i start excavating my apartment.

  2. January 26, 2009 9:17 am

    My Words:

    house-break: if I don’t housebreak my dog this week, she’s finding a new home.

    mop: dog referenced above made this necessary

    alarm clock: i’ve got to get one so i can crawl out of bed earlier

    4 pounds: the distance between me and my first big goal

    preschool: thank God for preschool!

    bed: can i just go back?… wait, oh yeah. alarm clock.

  3. January 26, 2009 11:10 am

    My words o’ the week:

    Sick- Children, have lead to sick me. Yuck.

    Husband- Love that man for going to work everyday in below freezing temperatures.

    Laundry Detergent- Need to make some, stat.

    TV- need to get it out of my house. 3 year old daughter is a cartoon addict.

    Computer- need to get some control as 3 year old daughter’s mother is a computer addict.

    Beth Moore Bible Study- need to get caught up as I missed last week’s study.

    Monday- love it. God’s mercies are new everyday…especially Mondays!

  4. January 26, 2009 11:59 am

    Words to start the week? Hmm… tough one.

    Relax — I need to truly “let go and let God” because stress has been getting the better of me. I have a three day “weekend” in the middle of the week this week and rather than stressing more over money, etc… because of it, I’m going to take the time to relax.

    Home — Because when the real weekend comes I’ll be heading to my parents’ house for a couple of days. I can’t wait.

    Football — Superbowl on Sunday!!!

    Green — I’m going to try and be better about drinking my green smoothies (good for my mental and physical health).

  5. Michelle permalink
    January 26, 2009 12:32 pm

    sad-I was so ready for this week yesterday….but this morning was horrible in our household. Sometimes being a single mom sucks!! My heart is sad for my DD.

    prayer-I need to do alot of it.

    thankful-That I really don’t have to do this on my own, God is with me.

    searching-For a good Christian counselor that can help us

    Tears-Trying to keep the tears from flowing today

  6. January 26, 2009 12:36 pm

    Jet-Plane – As in, my husband is leaving on one today. Fortunately, we know he’ll be back in 4 days. I do hate to see him go.
    (Um, just realized… he’s going to another small city up north. He’ll be on a prop plane. Oh well.)

    Sunshine – After weeks of “valley cloud” (read:fog) it’s back! Drinking in Vitamin D.

    Bedtimes – I am facing them with a sense of foreboding. Baths, diapers, breastfeeding, hood jammies… “NO! jeep jammies!” book reading, spitting up, teeth brushing, crying.

    Reprieve – In the form of my in-laws, those lovely people who will come and stay with us for a day and night so I can do important things like errands and pick out a new book with my Chapters gift certificate. (Any suggestions?)

    Coupon Day – Today at my local grocery store which means 15% off if you spend $100. Yay! It also means the place will be a gong show.

    Ambitious – So many craft ideas, so little skill!

    Coffee Cream – For the small group bible study at our place tonight which I am not only hosting (as usual) but also leading. Prayers, please!

  7. Michele Miller permalink
    January 26, 2009 1:55 pm

    Just wanted to say how happy we were to have you visit our Sunday School class and Carmel. My husband and I were the ones sitting across from you. If you need anything let us know.
    Michele

  8. January 26, 2009 2:14 pm

    Tired–I didn’t get much sleep 2 nights in a row, and I am soooo feeling it.

    Dallas–where my husband is until Wednesday. Sigh.

    Noise–my car is making one. Why didn’t $1800 plus fix the stupid thing??

    Dora–I see Sarah’s Dora the Explorer chair sitting in front of me.

    Moving–happening soon!!!! Woo-hoo!!!!!!

    Packing, cleaning, sorting, purging–all must happen before said move can take place.

  9. January 26, 2009 2:18 pm

    My words for the week are …
    1. Sick … I can not seem to shake this cough and it’s starting to concern and frustrate me equally.

    2. Determined … I dropped numerous balls last week in the area of being a “help-meet” to my husband, he pointed out several of them and I am determined to do a better job this week.

    3. Ashamed … that my walking resolution has so quickly dissolved into nothing more than another dream lost.

    4. Moderation … in eating, in Facebook-ing, in talking on the phone

    5. Confounded … by the knot in my stomach when i do my Beth Moore Esther homework, why can’t embrace this woman thing?

    6. Hopeful … that my son will survive my efforts to homeschool him!

  10. January 28, 2009 1:28 am

    thank you TJ for the vinegar tip, because I seem to always have moldy clothes in my washer these days

    My words at the moment–

    1- Sleepy
    2- Tired
    3- Exhausted
    4- Numb, but I’m really excited on the inside, I KNOW it to the core, but I Just can’t FEEL it.
    5- Apologetic – to my husband for not being “myself” lately
    6- maybe that’s because I’m just TIRED

    SORRY! What a depressing list!! Ask me tomorrow…

Trackbacks

  1. words. — fairly ordinary

Leave a Reply

