Skip to content

Words to Start the Week

February 2, 2009

1.  Rut – Will I do this post every Monday because my brain is fried from the weekend?

2.  Virginia – I’m trying to convince Hugh to spontaneously take us to Virginia Beach this coming weekend for my BIRTHDAY. Because they have WHALE WATCHING at Virginia Beach – WOO HOO! Humpback and Fin whales…binoculars…the smell of the ocean…heaven.

3.  Sleep Away – So, um, I’m wondering how long it takes to become addicted to Tylenol’s Sleep Away?  I’ve taken it the last three nights and I am feeling SO rested.  Actually, when my husband reads this post, he’ll probably throw away the rest of the box, so I don’t need to worry about it. Sigh.

4.  Sunday School – LOVE.  Second week at a Sunday School at the Baptist Church.  Fourth week at the Baptist church.  Starting to like it, really like it.  Oh. my. gosh.

5.  Adore – My husband.  He spent six house (SIX HOURS!!!) with me on Saturday helping me organize everything I have to do for school.  I have post-its all over the wall now…color-coded by priority.  He is a gift.

6.  Groceries – I don’t have any.  Oops.  I wonder what my kids will eat for breakfast this morning?  Hm.  Old chili or stale Thomas Everything bagels?

7.   CLEAN VAN – This makes me want to cry.  My family spent almost an hour cleaning out the van yesterday after church (because we went to church…AND Sunday School).  This morning I will drive to school in a vehicle that doesn’t smell like old food and dirty clothes.  I won’t step on old papers and coffee mugs.

8.  Super Bowl – I didn’t watch it because I was watching a PBS movie about Benjamin Franklin – which was really interesting.  I never knew that Franklin had illicit affairs with tons of women!  He was quoted as being grateful for not having some kind of dreadful venereal disease. HA! So much for the image I have of him as a kind old man with a kite.  Franklin the Tiger.

9.  Lame – This post is sad and lame.  But, hey, I’m a working mom and my van is usually a disaster and I don’t have time to watch the Super Bowl.  So, you know, this is as good as it gets, apparently.

What are your words for the week? Hm………Hopefully better than mine…………

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 2, 2009 10:01 am

    Your lists are never boring… =)

  2. Dawna permalink
    February 2, 2009 10:40 am

    You will probably laugh, but the lists you make when you are ‘fried’ from the weekend, many of us can understand and relate to, as we are on the same ‘fried’ line. Thanks for your post reminding us we are not alone.

  3. February 2, 2009 3:09 pm

    I like the word posts. It’s fun to try to think of what my own words would be. 🙂

    And on that note, here goes my best effort.

    Sick. Nelson is sick. I am sick. We are praying that somehow Sarah won’t catch it too.

    Snow. We’re actually getting some today. Sarah is sooo excited. Poor thing has not yet realized that her pathetically sick parents are not going to be able to take her out to play in it. :-p

    Laundry. I desperately need to do some. Unfortunately, the energy level required for that is just not there right now. 😦 Did I mention being sick and pathetic?

    Food. We actually need to procure some somehow. Sickness and snow do not make a good combination when the house is empty of groceries.

    Moving. We’re doing this at the end of the month. Hopefully we will feel better by then!

    Tired. My brain is too tired and foggy to think of any more words. Sorry.

  4. February 3, 2009 1:41 am

    My words of the week?

    I’m so happy for Jess!!!

    I’m so glad you are starting to feel like maybe, just maybe, you’ve found the church for you. That is HUGE!!!

  5. Joy permalink
    February 4, 2009 12:22 am

    There would be no need for the colorful post-it notes if you had an iPhone with Zenbe lists on it. I think you should tell your insurance company that you need an iPhone for health reasons.

  6. February 5, 2009 9:42 am

    I like your lists! I would try my own, but my son is sitting on the table twirling a rose that he pulled out of the vase. Ugh, I guess I gotta stop pretending I can’t see him & intervene! heehee

Trackbacks

  1. words. — fairly ordinary

Leave a Reply

