Skip to content

Prayer Requests

February 3, 2009

The lovely part about teaching at a Christian school is that we end the day focusing on Jesus.

I love sitting around in a circle with my students and talking about God and then praying for one another.

But. Seriously. Sometimes they completely crack me up.

Here is our prayer list from today (names have been changed to protect the guilty/innocent/sleepy…Also, I’ve changed little details so if you GO to my school or WORK at my school, you can’t come and dig for more information. Sorry.)

Middle School Prayer List for February 3:

1.  “Pray for our family because we just lost our cat.  Also, please pray for our other cat who is really overweight.  And, actually, depressed.  Please pray for the cat not to eat too much or become depressed now that the other cat is dead.  And, oh, please pray for the new cat our family wants to get.  Does anybody know of a good kind of cat?”

2.  “Please pray for Michael Phelps who was caught doing pot.  Also, he was drunk.  Which sucks because he was my role model.”  (Two people prayed for Michael when it came time to pray)

3.  “Please pray for my dad who grinds his teeth.  Yeah, also, he brushed his teeth so hard that he had to have surgery on his teeth.  Which is so weird, you know, because when my girl scout troop was selling cookies last weekend in front of Target, someone said they couldn’t buy any cookies because they had just had surgery on their teeth and NOW MY DAD had surgery on HIS teeth!”

4.  “Yeah, we need to pray for my mom because her back and neck are really messed up.”

5.  Here is my all-time favorite prayer request from any student this year:  “Please pray for my parents because they have no friends.”

Oops.

6.  “Please pray for my dog because her ear got sliced by a wire and we had to take her to the vet last night and I am really worried that it might get infected.”

There you have it.  Parents and pets.  Oh, and Marijuana Michael.  Another day teaching Middle School.

I love my life.

7 Comments leave one →
  1. February 3, 2009 4:19 pm

    Kids do say the darnedest things. 😉

  2. February 3, 2009 5:23 pm

    Oh my gosh – the teeth grinding one. I am cracking up!

  3. February 3, 2009 8:10 pm

    That brings back such memories for me! When I taught 3rd grade (before Alyse was born) I loved to go to the prayer box and read what we were going to be praying for. There were a lot of animal request.

    My favorite was the year I got pregnant. EVERYDAY someone would write “For Mrs. V to have a baby”. By the end of the year, I told them that I yes I was going to have a baby. They were so excited that “they did it!”

  4. February 3, 2009 8:23 pm

    ROFL! The things that come out of the mouths of 6th graders are a big part of the reason I love my job.

  5. February 4, 2009 2:22 pm

    I just had to comment. This post made me laugh. I teach a 6th grade bible study and what you just wrote sounds like our prayer time.

  6. diane permalink
    February 4, 2009 4:34 pm

    OK- Jess, were you in my class listening to my kids’ prayer requests? We pray for many cats,bunnies, and dogs and lots of grandparents. I love it!

  7. holly brown permalink
    February 5, 2009 9:54 pm

    Hilarious. whenever i take prayer requests, i always make a point to say, “no pet requests tonight.” i am with adults too…some things never change. 🙂

    Miss you!!

Leave a Reply

